10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great Beans! I do add a bay leaf during cooking but otherwise follow the directions and ingredients exactly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck_Roast March 07, 2009

It's unanimous, 5 stars again. Loved this with cornbread and salad. I didn't change the seasonings at all and thought they were perfect. Made this with turkey ham and pureed 1 cup of the finished beans, adding them back to the pot for creaminess.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 12, 2006

This is a very good recipe. They are very flavorful. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 27, 2013

These are excellent! The only thing I change is sometimes I will pour a little hot sauce in with the bacon to give it an extra little kick. These are awesome with any dish, but we like them best with brisket or fried catfish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana October 01, 2007

Thought I would prepare my pinto beans a different way and choose your recipe. The beans tasted pretty good. Thanks momstar. Bullwinkle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle April 24, 2006

This is the way my mom always made these when I was growing up, and the way I have been making them for years (except for the cayenne). We call these brown beans. These were great. I only gave them 4 stars because I followed the directions exactly, and after the cooking time specified, the beans were done, but not as tender as I would have liked them. DH and I really wanted these for dinner but my recipe always takes longer so I was looking for one with a shorter cooking time. Next time I'll allow more time and let them cook a little longer so they will be more tender. Great taste, though. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lydia's Mama March 19, 2006

These are absolutely fantastic! DH and I made the beans exactly as written...and it will be a repeat here, quiet often! Thank you for this wonderful, flavorful and also aromatic recipe, momstar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silly sally March 19, 2006

This is the absolute best recipe for pintos I have ever had!! My DH loved them. I used smoked pork jowl for seasoning. I also used salt, pepper, garlic powder, and Tony Chacheres cajun seasoning. They were great. If you let them cook longer than listed, they are creamy. Thanks for submitting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spring Sneed in AR January 02, 2006

I have been making pinto beans this way for years. It is the only way I know how. Great comfort food, especially with warm cornbread. YUMMMMMMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneytunesfan December 19, 2005

My DH requested pinto beans for his birthday and when I saw this recipe I decided to try it. It was great. The only thing different I did was to use fresh garlic and onion. I also made Garlic-Onion Dinner Muffins #50973 and the combination was heavenly...just good ole comfort food! Thanks. You posted this one just in time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss ~V~ February 08, 2005
Pinto Beans