Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pinto Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pinto Beans

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2009

      Great Beans! I do add a bay leaf during cooking but otherwise follow the directions and ingredients exactly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      It's unanimous, 5 stars again. Loved this with cornbread and salad. I didn't change the seasonings at all and thought they were perfect. Made this with turkey ham and pureed 1 cup of the finished beans, adding them back to the pot for creaminess.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      This is a very good recipe. They are very flavorful. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      These are excellent! The only thing I change is sometimes I will pour a little hot sauce in with the bacon to give it an extra little kick. These are awesome with any dish, but we like them best with brisket or fried catfish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      Thought I would prepare my pinto beans a different way and choose your recipe. The beans tasted pretty good. Thanks momstar. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This is the way my mom always made these when I was growing up, and the way I have been making them for years (except for the cayenne). We call these brown beans. These were great. I only gave them 4 stars because I followed the directions exactly, and after the cooking time specified, the beans were done, but not as tender as I would have liked them. DH and I really wanted these for dinner but my recipe always takes longer so I was looking for one with a shorter cooking time. Next time I'll allow more time and let them cook a little longer so they will be more tender. Great taste, though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      These are absolutely fantastic! DH and I made the beans exactly as written...and it will be a repeat here, quiet often! Thank you for this wonderful, flavorful and also aromatic recipe, momstar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      This is the absolute best recipe for pintos I have ever had!! My DH loved them. I used smoked pork jowl for seasoning. I also used salt, pepper, garlic powder, and Tony Chacheres cajun seasoning. They were great. If you let them cook longer than listed, they are creamy. Thanks for submitting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      I have been making pinto beans this way for years. It is the only way I know how. Great comfort food, especially with warm cornbread. YUMMMMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      My DH requested pinto beans for his birthday and when I saw this recipe I decided to try it. It was great. The only thing different I did was to use fresh garlic and onion. I also made Garlic-Onion Dinner Muffins #50973 and the combination was heavenly...just good ole comfort food! Thanks. You posted this one just in time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Beans Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pinto Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.9
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    20%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 106.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes