10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great mid week dish ! I used a punnet of cherry tomatoes plus a few sundried to make up the tomato quota. also added fresh herbs from the garden. I blended it with a stick blender so all good !! made for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 14, 2010

This is a wonderful sauce. I added some extra red pepper flakes, and we loved the zip. I served with Parmesan cheese on the side for the non-vegans. Thanks for sharing! ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews June 08, 2010

DELICIOUS! What a great recipe-tastes so light and fresh. The idea of blending is brilliant-stops those picky eaters from eating around the veggies, if you get what I mean. I took the advice of Engrossed and used my immersion blender-fast and easy! Thank you for a great recipe!!! Made for the Think Pink Tag Game In Honor of Breast Cancer Awareness, October 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack October 16, 2008

This was really good. I used fresh tomatoes for this but since I had dried basil on hand, I used that instead of the fresh basil leaves. I love the garlic in this one, I really do.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef March 17, 2008

This is awesome and so healthy too! By blending the sauce it really gives it a creamy texture but with no cream added!! I added extra basil and topped with a bit of grated Parmesan cheese. Great recipe and one for my favourites book.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies January 14, 2008

Like last reviewer, WHAT CAN I SAY? This recipe REALLY made my day! has "pinkish" twinge when blend, TRUE! If not, this is delish, so use your imagination too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder October 25, 2007

This is a WONDERFUL FLAVORFUL HEALTHY EASY VEGAN pasta sauce! It was orange not pink but that's okay...it was perfect for October. I followed the recipe exactly using a red onion and fresh tomatoes. I only used 1/8tsp red pepper flakes but that was still too overpowering for my heat sensitive tongue so next time I'll omit them. I used my immersion blender right in the pot to puree it. I refrigerated it overnight. We enjoyed this over whole wheat penne. I agree that the coarse salt is a must! I used coarse ground black pepper too. My husband the pasta lover really realllllly LOVED this! Made for the Please Review game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed October 22, 2007

Wonderful sauce for pasta! I used a sweet onion and orange bell pepper which created a pasta sauce with a beautifully colorful shade. The red pepper flakes give it a hint of personality pairing it perfectly with pasta. This recipe is very simple to make and is ready in almost no time. Thank you, White Rose Child!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev October 11, 2007

This recipe was good, but not great. The texture was nice, and the dish looked great. There was not much flavor, though. I added more basil, shredded cheese, and a few other spices but it was just too bland for me...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
20XCRunner12 January 18, 2009

I used fresh italian tomatoes. I added more water from time to time. I omitted the basil. In the food processor, I added heavy cream to do a pink sauce. Thanks White Rose Child :) Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 15, 2007
Pink Mediterranean Pasta Sauce