18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used Nilla wafers instead of graham crackers, and put about twice as much lemon in the icing. I can't tell you how many people have told me this is the absolute best dessert they have ever had!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan_dyer9 September 12, 2010

DELICIOUS! Very easy and goes together quickly. Made for the office and not a crumb was left! Thank you, Gerry, for a great recipe! Made for the Think Pink Tag Game In Honor of Breast Cancer Awareness, October 2008.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack October 31, 2008

Absolutely delicious even though my crust didn't hold very well. I believe this was due to my using ready-made crumbs rather crushing my own graham crackers. Whatever the reason I will make these again as they were a super hit at our place. I might try it with the nilla wafers. Made for the RS#40.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive May 09, 2010

As if this recipe needed another 5 star review, but that's what I'm giving it anyway. :) This was made on 10/15/09 for the " Think Pink 2009 " Breast Cancer Awareness event. I follwed this recipe almost as written, my changes are as follows:For the crust, crushed vanilla wafers were used. The filling ingredients remained the same. I did make a slight mistake with this, the crust wasn't completely cooled before adding the filling. But it didn't seem to make a difference in the finished result. Since I didn't have any cream or half-half, the same amount of milk was used.And since I didn't having any lemons, bottled lemon juice was used ( Tell your Mom I'm sorry :) ). I would love to say " These will be made all the time " but I can't, I would eat all of them in just a couple of days .;). But I will make them again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � October 16, 2009

I first saw these on a thread about home baking slices. They looked so delectable & tasty that they went straight into my cookbook. In a random twist of fate I was put into a team with Gerry for the Aussie/Kiwi Swap - July 2009, so what else could I really make but these. They were pretty simple to make and came together quite quickly. The only thing I did differently was to bake the base for about 10 minutes and I also used the juice of two Meyer lemons in the icing to cut through the sweetness. These cut up well and looked lovely as dainty little pink high-topped squares - perfect for a morning tea with the best pink floral china. Thank you for posting Gerry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilKiwiChicken July 29, 2009

I took these beautiful gems to a Christmas party last night and they were gone instantly! I made 1 1/2 times the recipe and used a 9 * 13 pan - I doubled the icing as 1 1/2 wasn't quite enough. Even my 5 year old who claims not to like coconut loved these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking for boys!!! December 12, 2008

These are delicious! Everyone raved about these and wanted the recipe. I will make these again. Made for Aussie/New Zealand Recipe Swap #21.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 October 20, 2008

This recipe was very easy to make and the directions were equally easy to follow. They were raving over these at the office. They actually asked for your recipe ... they normally just eat and don't ask for how! I personally thought these were way too sweet but who am I to argue with the whole office plus visitors! This is definitely not for diabetics. I do thank you for sharing and bringing smiles to the faces of my co-workers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marisk September 23, 2008

These were good... darn it, why did these have to be good! I made them for my mom's potluck at work, and after the first bite, I went something like "mm... mm! mmmm!" I was skeptical at first, because I'm used to any dessert not being chocolate being something just to appease the difficult people. I thought I would be cute and thinly sliced Pink Lady Apple slices to garnish the top. The taste combination actually went very well; now I'm thinking some caramelized apple might go very well in the coconut mix. I thought about adding more lemon to the frosting, but it turned out that a delicate touch was perfect. I was also contemplating substituting condensed milk for evaporated milk, to cut down on the sweet, but I'm not sure how this will affect the baking process. Well, thanks for a great add! The moment I finished my first bar, I told my mother: "I want to make this again..." I'm very health-conscious, mind you, so saying that is saying something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rowenna June 18, 2008

Reviewed for the AUS-NZ Swap. These were marvelous! They turned out crispy on the bottom and edges and tender inside; the top of the coconut layer was nicely golden browned. These are pretty rich, and quite delicious! Thanks for sharing, ~Sue

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau June 04, 2008
Pink Lady Squares