61 Reviews

I used 1 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil to lighten it up a bit. I used golden raisins this time along with sliced almonds & kind of crumbled them up in the batter. I also added fresh lime & orange zest along with some fresh juice from the lime & orange (up to the individual as to how much). I baked mine off in a 9x13 pan.
I also topped it this time with a cream cheese icing (just cream cheese, butter, & powdered sugar. I used 4 ounces cream cheese, 2 ounces butter, & 2-1/2 cups powdered sugar (this amount worked perfectly as I doubled the recipe & made 2 9x13 pans). I also put some fresh lime zest along with fresh orange & lime juices in it.
This made a scrumptious bread that can be eaten any time. My family & friends can't stop raving about it.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne V. August 08, 2010

I tried three zucchini bread recipes this week. They were all very good, but this one was the best, hands down. AMAZINGLY moist, flavorful, light, and tasty. I used unsalted butter instead of oil. I used four tsp. of cinnamon instead of two. My family and friends tested all three breads and all asked for this one again. I left out the raisins and nuts this time, but I'm sure it will be great with both. I'm going to make more now.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CateringbyKimberly August 28, 2009

My favorite zucchini bread recipe...I don't alter core ingredients at all. (although used 20 oz can pineapple...when drained seems like 8) I have made this several times with rave reviews and ADDED chocolate chips plus used a combo of Golden Raisins and Dried Cherries soaked in Ameretto overnight (thx mom). It makes it like a fruit cake desert bread. And last time I drizzled the left over ameretto that the cherries and raisins were in, over the top. SO GOOD. Like something you'd get in a nice restaurant.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura2grlz August 27, 2009

Absolutely delicious! I cut the fat by using a half cup of oil and a half cup of applesauce. I substituted dried cherries for the raisins, and used pineapple tidbits rather than crushed pineapple (it really gives a nice bite of pineapple that way). This was such a hit at my husband's office that they are now periodically sending zucchini home with him so I'll make more bread!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jen November 14, 2011

I used applesauce for half the oil and I left the nuts out.This was a good moist bread but I just wasn't wild about the pineapple in this.I guess I got used to blueberries in my zucchini bread and the pineapple just didn't taste as good to me.This is a great recipe but I just prefer it without the pineapple.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
officemaintenance April 23, 2010

Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful!! My kids loved it as well as anyone else that was lucky enough to get a slice! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooksdoitbetter April 14, 2010

Delicious recipe. Made some before work one morning and left it in the breakroom. It was gone before the starting bell. Great way to use that runaway zucchini from the garden.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kslwoods August 30, 2009

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!! I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. I made it this morning and brought it into the salon. Everyone, even those who don't usually eat zucchini bread, raved about the taste. Two loaves were gone in less than an hour! Thanks for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prairie Dog Mom August 29, 2009

Excellent! Extremely moist which gets high marks! I hate dry bread. For the pineapple, I used zucchini pineapple (Zucchini Pineapple) that I canned last year (BTW, this is also a great way to use up an overload of zucchini - tastes just like pineapple). I omitted the raisins, and used only 1/2 cup of black walnuts. Being single, I made five mini loaves instead of two regular ones. One was gone by the next day, the other 4 went into the freezer.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyberchef August 15, 2009

I was given this recipe in the 1960s by a neighbor, who had gotten it from her mother when she was a girl on a Kansas farm (probably in the 1930s). Still the best zucchini bread I've ever had! I'm glad the recipe is still making the rounds.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts October 08, 2010
Pineapple Zucchini Bread