Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pineapple Upside-Down Cake in Iron Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pineapple Upside-Down Cake in Iron Skillet

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2012

      Really tasty, the top with the pineapples was sticky and sweet. Made in with regular pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Just perfect. no boxed mixes either! I realized too late that my pineapple was crushed, not rings, but just spooned about 1/2 can in place of the rings and it turned out wonderful.thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      I made this cake last night. My husband loved it. I followed the recipe, except I used half AP flour and half whole wheat. I also substituted 1/4 cup pineapple juice for an equal amount of milk. It was delicious. The directions for the batter could use a little more clarity in putting it together. Will definitely make again in my iron skillet. Thanks, Nvrhom13

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      This is just like the recipe mom use to make when we were kids. So easy and delicious. Thanks for the memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      So easy to make, yet so decedent to eat. Kids loved it, and it was gone in a flash. Wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. If it aint broke, don't fix it. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This is an old time recipe, and it's still a wonderful recipe. I don't know what it is about cooking is cake in a cast iron skillet, but it always turns out. You can't mess up this recipe. Wonderful flavors of the glazed pineapples and the fresh, warm cake. I love this cake. Thanks, angelfan, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      A true classic. This was so good and tender. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I substituted light coconut milk for half the milk and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I have made this a zillion times now and everyone just loves it everytime I make it. I love how it scents my kitchen when it comes out of the oven. However, you have to be careful about the size of your iron skillet and remember to flip it atleast 5 minutes after you take it out of the oven. Enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      This is the recipe my Nana has been making for us for as long as I can remember and it is my absolute favourite! Easy and delicious every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This is so good! Easy too. Letting it sit for five minutes is definitely the right trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Great recipe. It is very hard to get it out of the skillet without some of the bottom sticking. From the horses mouth here is the best way to do it. Let it cool for five minutes. turn onto a plate. Use a fork to scrape the pineapples/glaze that sticks, and reconstruct the cake. It is possible to make it look like it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Great, easy recipe. Had it done quick, tasted great. Added almost half a cup of milk, rounded it off to 3/4 with pineapple juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This is the only PUSD cake I make. Just like my grandmothers. Try using crushed pinapples instead of the sliced, it just taste better. Additionally, I add a little rum and pecans. That's just how my DH likes it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Easy and very Tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      Amazing! Just like I remembered it as a kid. This was the first cast-iron recipe I made in my grandpa's old skillet and it was great. It was done right at 35 mins and my skillet is 11 3/4 inches. Perfectly carmelized and oooohhhh sooooo yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This was fantastic!!! I used the parchment paper to keep it from sticking as well and it turned out just beautiful and absolutely yummy!!! What a wonderful recipe and my relatives just couldnt get enough of it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      WOW! Let me say we loved this, it was so good right out of the oven we ate it all except one piece *blush*. I was looking for a recipe close to my mothers, this sounded VERY close except she always made it in a glass pan. I don't own a cast iron skillet :-( So I made it in a 9" glass pie plate. I think I baked it around 50-55 minutes. It worked fairly well but the batter tried to escape :-( I think I'll put 1/2 a cup less batter in the pan next time. The crispy butter/brown sugar/batter on the edges was AMAZING how do I get a cake with just that? LOL oh.. the only change I made (other than the type of pan) was to use 1/4 cup juice from the pineapple and 1/2 cup milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

    • on October 30, 2007

      I made this in a sprinform pan and it leaked all over my oven and it was still OUTSTANDING! I used pecan halves instead of cherries, everything else, as written. Moist and delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake in Iron Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 570.6
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    33%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 55.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 387.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.6 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 66.4 g
    265%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes