54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My gosh, this cake is awesome! This is the way my mom does her pineapple upside down cakes too. It looked so stunning when it was done I almost didn't want to cut it. ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M May 19, 2005

A delicious cake thats quick & easy to make! I used a thinly sliced fresh pineapple patted dry with a paper towel & added a tsp of vanilla to the batter. My red & green glazed maraschino cherries were quite colourful but dried out a little - I advise using the bottled in liquid type. Thanx Angelfan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady February 11, 2005

I cooked my pineapple on my George Foreman just long enoughto get grill marks. I liked the flavor..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 12, 2015

This "cake" was so disgustingly and grotesquely sweet, I ate a small piece and pitched the rest. Yuck, and triple Yuck !! Additionally the cake part was very dense. (Looked pretty but GAG !). If your sweet tooth is THAT bad, save your time and just eat brown sugar straight from the box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quit2k July 31, 2014

Excellent! I didn't have an iron skillet, but it worked fine in a regular pan. I also substituted pineapple juice for a little of the milk, and it was heaven! So good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking April 14, 2014

This was the nest pineapple upside down cake I have had. It reminded me a lot of the recipe my grandmothers use. I did follow the suggestion of adding 14 cup of pineapple juice in with 12 cup of milk. Definitely made a difference. My neighbor and all of my family raved about this cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VadersMommy March 27, 2014

Nothing better than upside-down pineapple on a cold winter's evening!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds February 17, 2014

I have made Pineapple Upside Down Cakes before, but never in a Cast Iron Skillet and decided I had to try this one. I am so very glad I did, this was easy and delicious, and I am not sure but I really think the skillet added a wonderful flavor not experienced before. Thank You so much for the wonderfull recipe, I will be making this again and again and again. 1/27/14 the previous was done but forgot to post over 6 years ago... I made this tonight for my Sweethearts belated birthday cake. I mixed the dry ingrediants then blended the wet, adding 1/3 rd at a time till blended in on slow beater setting, then put it up to full blast for over 5 minutes making sure I could see a gluten forming and air bubbles in the dough... I have to tell you this made for a lighter, and very moist cake. Absolutely fantastic... Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe... it is enjoyed time and time again.... I am sorry my review never got posted all that long ago.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 January 26, 2014

I was looking for an easy recipe that didn't use a cake mix!! This not only was easy...but delicious!!<br/>Thank you angelfan!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP March 31, 2013

So easy and delicious! Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kween_bee3 December 13, 2012
Pineapple Upside-Down Cake in Iron Skillet