Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pineapple Upside-Down Cake in Iron Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pineapple Upside-Down Cake in Iron Skillet

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2010

      I've now made this recipe on three occasions and have been very pleased with the results each time. I do put a circle of parchment paper on the bottom of the pan, and each time the cake falls onto the plate without breaking up. I added a tsp. of vanilla as someone else suggested, and used a quarter cup of juice to go with a half cup of milk. The first cake I made using pineapple, second occasion with blueberries, and now have one cooling made with apples. I used a fairly large iron skillet, and it turns out just the right size cake I was looking for. A big thanks for posting the recipe Angelfan....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      I made it in a regular baking pan, and it was fabulous. I think next time I will pour some of the pineapple juice into the batter to give it more of a pineapple flavor though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      Oh My! My Mother used to make her cake the same way in an iron skillet! But I did not have her recipe. So glad I found this one. Thanks for your kind words! PEACE RHONDA : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I used plums and raspberries & subbed half the milk with yogurt - This is a great cake!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      This was great, Angelfan, just like my Grandmother ised to make! as Amylu and I have always had problems with the caramel sticking to my pans (either with a banana upside down cake or the traditional pineapple upside down cake. So this time I tried something different. I sprayed the bottom of the skillet with a butter-flavored spray and then cut a circle out of parchment paper to fit the bottom of the skillet. Then proceeded like the recipe called for. Melted the butter on the parchment paper and coated it with the brown sugar; then placed the pineapple, cherries and the dough in the pan. Baked for the required time and viola! beautiful cake like I remember! Problem - DON'T place the cake on a regular dinner plate! The plates are concave (or convex?) and will cause the middle of the cake to drop. Still beautiful and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      This was an awesome recipe. This was my first attempt at a pineapple upside down cake and it turned out great. I did make a few changes. I only had a 13" Cast Iron skillet so I ended up having to double the cake part of the recipe. I only had to use the butter, brown sugar, and pineapple once though. I did not have sliced pineapple so I used 1 can of crushed, turned out great. I did not have any cherries,so none used. Even though I had to double the cake recipe, it still only took 40-45 minutes to bake. I also did sub some pineapple juice for some of the milk. The nice thing about the cast iron is that the cake flipped right out of the skillet. Beautiful. I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      I am so glad I found this recipe. My grandmother use to make it for my dad all the time and thats was almost 30 years ago, but she never left a recipe. Well when I made this and brang it out he couldn't wait to try it and when he did I swear I saw tears in his eye's. It was just how his mom made it. Thanks So Much for making my dad feel young again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      I just realized that I've always been in such a hurry to make this cake that I forgot to review it! LOL!!! This is the classic pineapple upside down cake, full of yumminess. I add a teaspoon of vanilla for depth of flavor, and this time I used 1/2c homemade kefir & 1/4c pineapple juice instead of milk, and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda instead of baking powder. VERY moist & delicious!!!<br/><br/>It just isn't the same without the marachino cherries--how I wish someone would find nutritional use for them instead of empty calories flavor! Do lightly butter the bottom of the pan, then line it with parchment paper before melting the butter in the pan--it pops out perfectly!<br/><br/>Update: I had 1/2 can of crushed pineapple to use up, so made 1/2 the recipe in my smaller cast iron skillet. I used a whole egg and reduced the liquid by 1/8 cup, using just the pineapple juice. I used virgin coconut oil as the shortening, and sprinkled chopped toasted pecans on the butter/sugar before adding the pineapple. A completely different taste, very light and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      This cake was awesome! I grew up in a home where Pineapple Upside-Down Cake was made at least once a month, and this cake tasted just like my mom's! I omitted the cherries as I didn't have any, and followed Mizsuzee's idea of adding 1/4 cup of pineapple juice to the batter and knocking the milk down to 1/2 a cup. The cake was super moist, and tasted just wonderful! I think next time I'll double the brown sugar/butter topping though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      Not only did I love this cake, so did my DH and our neighbors raved over it too!!! I omitted the cherries (didnt have any) and changed the 3/4 cup milk to 1/2 cup milk and added 1/4 cup of the pineapple juice to the batter. Simple and delicious! Will definitely make this again!! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      My gosh, this cake is awesome! This is the way my mom does her pineapple upside down cakes too. It looked so stunning when it was done I almost didn't want to cut it. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      A delicious cake thats quick & easy to make! I used a thinly sliced fresh pineapple patted dry with a paper towel & added a tsp of vanilla to the batter. My red & green glazed maraschino cherries were quite colourful but dried out a little - I advise using the bottled in liquid type. Thanx Angelfan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      Excellent! I didn't have an iron skillet, but it worked fine in a regular pan. I also substituted pineapple juice for a little of the milk, and it was heaven! So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2014

      This was the nest pineapple upside down cake I have had. It reminded me a lot of the recipe my grandmothers use. I did follow the suggestion of adding 14 cup of pineapple juice in with 12 cup of milk. Definitely made a difference. My neighbor and all of my family raved about this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      Nothing better than upside-down pineapple on a cold winter's evening!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I have made Pineapple Upside Down Cakes before, but never in a Cast Iron Skillet and decided I had to try this one. I am so very glad I did, this was easy and delicious, and I am not sure but I really think the skillet added a wonderful flavor not experienced before. Thank You so much for the wonderfull recipe, I will be making this again and again and again. 1/27/14 the previous was done but forgot to post over 6 years ago... I made this tonight for my Sweethearts belated birthday cake. I mixed the dry ingrediants then blended the wet, adding 1/3 rd at a time till blended in on slow beater setting, then put it up to full blast for over 5 minutes making sure I could see a gluten forming and air bubbles in the dough... I have to tell you this made for a lighter, and very moist cake. Absolutely fantastic... Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe... it is enjoyed time and time again.... I am sorry my review never got posted all that long ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      I was looking for an easy recipe that didn't use a cake mix!! This not only was easy...but delicious!!<br/>Thank you angelfan!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      So easy and delicious! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      This turned out delicious!! I used fresh pineapple slices instead of canned, and coconut oil in place of the shortening. I let it sit in the pan for 5 minutes and then turned it out onto a large plate. I didn't have any trouble with it sticking at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      Really tasty, the top with the pineapples was sticky and sweet. Made in with regular pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake in Iron Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 570.6
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    33%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 55.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 387.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.6 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 66.4 g
    265%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites