Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pineapple Upside Down Cake

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2011

      If I could give it more, I would! Of course, I made some modifications as I can't just leave well enough alone. Here is what I did...
      Regular yellow cake instead of the pineapple cake (cheaper)
      Fage 0 Greek yogurt instead of the oil (lower fat and creamier consistency)

      Yum yum yum! Thanks Elaine for this recipe! A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      This is a good cake but you can taste the imitation pineapple in the duncan hines mix. It really bothered me. Seems counterproductive... why not just use yellow cake mix and use pineapple juice instead of the water? I'm not saying the cake wasn't good, but that imitation pineapple flavor was annoying. It reminds me of sonic slushy or snow cone flavoring or something. But very moist, only my husband and I could taste the fake pineapple flavoring bc we have been enjoying a fresh pineapple cake recently from the store and were hoping to have a recipe of our own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      This is very good, I made the recipe exactly the same except after you lay down the pineapple rings, I also added crushed pineapple all around the rings to fill in the open spaces. I added the cherries to the ring and all around the crushed pineapple. Then I continued with the steps in the recipe. Turned out very good and really moist, I added a picture of the finished cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Oh my goodness, this is the most moist and delicious pineapple upside down cake I've ever had. I baked it for our 4th of July party, and everyone who tried it loved it. I substituted applesauce for the canola oil, and you would never know. My husband said it was his favorite pineapple upside down cake that I've made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      It baked up beautiful...very moist. This was my first P.U.D. cake. I don't think I could find a recipe to top this one, however, I do think that next time I make this, I may use more brown sugar, and use crushed pineapple. nothing to change the flavor, but crushed pineapple may be more "fork friendly" Thanks for sharing. this was the first recipe that I tried, and shall be the only one in my recipe books!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Awesome recipe. I followed exactly as instructed and turned out great! Very moist and flipped right out of pan. I cooked 50 mins and then knifed around sides of pan and flipped on serving plate. Left the pan on top about 10 mins to let juices soak. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Yep! It's that good. I went with the crushed pineapple, pecans and no "extra" topping. It isn't overly sweet and soooooo moist. I had DH flip the cake onto the serving tray and waited anxiously as he removed the pan. There wasn't even in topping stuck in the pan, it all stayed beautifully on the cake. Thank you. This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! My mother made the best Pineapple Upside Down cake from scratch, and it was so darn moist and delicious, people would actually pay her to make it for them. She passed the recipe on to me before her passing, and it became one of my most requested recipes after I married and baked it for my family and friends. I rcently lost her recipe in a move, and have searched everywhere for a close replacement. I just couldn't find it until now. Since mom used crushed pineapple instead of slices, I tried it with your recipe and also doubled the topping recipe. My husband thought I had found my moms recipe, so I knew I had a winner. Again, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      This cake was SO moist and delicious! I took some into the office and they absolutely loved it! Followed the recipe with the exception of using Duncan Hines Butter Recipe Golden cake mix (since supreme pineapple was unavailabe) and I omitted the maraschino cherries. I did need the 45-50 minutes for it to cook through completely. And I don't think it needed the extra topping as it was sweet enough, but thank you for providing the option. This was extremely easy to make. Will be making this for the family'sThanksgiving potluck ! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Loved this..I used a yellow cake mix as others suggested. Very moist. changing my go to recipe to this one! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      The pineapple cake mix definitely spoils this cake and, as others have mentioned, it gives an aritificial pineapple cake. Made with a yellow or white cake mix is a big improvement - atleast for our tastebuds. Thanks for the recipe tho because with these changes it is great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      Great cake. I used a yellow cake mix and cooked in two round pans for 40 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      We enjoyed this cake very much for Easter dinner. Have to say I couldn't find pineapple cake mix so happily went with a yellow cake. We loved the moistness of this cake. It is definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      This is very easy to throw together and makes a very nice moist cake. I tried it out because I found a Pineapple cake mix and had never seen one before. I also had a case of fresh pineapples because we just got back from HI, so thought this would be perfect. It was good, but ultimately for me, I don't think I care for the fake pineapple taste of the boxed mix. Next time I will make a cake from scratch and just use the brown sugar/pineapple topping as it was wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      I made this a few weeks ago but baked it in a casr iron skillet..It was moist and just wonderful !!!!!!We Loved it

      Pollyw

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      I was looking for the classic pineapple upside down cake I remember from childhood. Sorry - but I thought the pineapple cake mix made this too sweet. May try again using regular yellow cake mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      so moist and delicious! i used pineapple tidbits and added pecans ..omitting the cherries, due to personal preference. mine took a little longer to bake, than most .. but it was worth it. this recipe was exactly what i was looking for. thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      Delicious! I made this based on the reviews for my hubby's birthday tonight and it rocked the house :) I've had pineapple upside down cake maybe once in my life when I was little and have never made it, so when DH requested it, I came to good ol' Recipe Zaar to find a goodie recipe. Boy did I find it! I'm a total novice baker too and followed the instructions exactly, down to the 45 minute bake time and it came out perfectly. Thanks so much ElaineM, you've made my DH's birthday even happier!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      Loved it! Nice and easy. I used yellow cake mix & pecan pcs on top. Also next time I will use crushed pineapple. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Wow!! Moist, flavorful, delicious! I made 2 9 inch cakes using light butter, half the brown sugar and sugar free pudding.. amazing! I am bringing one home for Father's Day and I know it will be a hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pineapple Upside Down Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.9
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    52%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 82.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 233.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 34.3 g
    137%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pineapple cake mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes