Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pineapple Upside Down Cake

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2011

      This cake was delish!! However I agree with some that no enough batter and cooking time was longer...I followed all the ingredients except for one...I added fresh squeezed lemon instead of orange juice. I'll have to double the batter next time as this cake will go very fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      I made this for our Easter dessert and it was a hit. To accomadate our large family, I doubled the recipe and baked the cake in a 12" x 9" pan at 325 for 50 min. It turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Yummy! I made 1/2 of the recipe, replaced the OJ with pineapple juice, used half sugar and half Splenda and cooked it at 350 for 1 hour. The taste is great! Will make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Made this for my mom's birthday because she loves pineapple upside down cake. Four of us devoured it in less than 10 minutes. She now asks for it all the time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Delicious! I'm not one of the world's champion bakers, but I managed to make a perfectly acceptable, even presentable cake. Like others, I used the pineapple juice I had at hand from draining the pineapple chunks (I've never even seen canned spears), instead of the orange juice. I also found that it took an extra 10 minutes to cook, but I was using a round pan because the square one was in use.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Outstanding!! Very, very moist cake. I didn't have orange juice and only 1/4 cup of pineapple juice (left over from making Mai Tai Steaks where I had opened a can of pineapple spears for the juice and decided to find a recipe to use the spears). Came across this one and am so happy I did. I added a 1/4 cup of rum to the juice to make my 1/2 cup needed. I threw on some raisins just because I wanted to add another color to the topping. I used all 10 spears in the can because I didn't want to waste any. Didn't have a 9" pan so used a 8" instead. Cooked for 40 minutes at 350 degrees and it came out perfect. DH couldn't wait so he had a piece with coffee before dinner was ready and another for dessert. I would highly recommend this and plan to make again and again. Thanks, Honeybeee for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      Much better than my old standby recipe I've used all these years. The cake was moist and had a subtle orange flavor to it. It got eaten up by my family within 2 hours!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      This cake was perfect! :) Soooo easy to make! I baked it for exactly 40 minutes and it came out perfectly! Although, it is very sweet and so serving it with some whipped cream or ice cream is lovely. My whole family loved it and I will most definitely make this again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Very good! I used crushed pineapple so that I could get more surface area with the fruit, which I think also solved the problem for some of the below reviews who said the fruit to cake ration was too much. Also, for the people who used a cast iron skillet, you have to realize that most are larger than 9 inches, which would cause the cake layer to be thinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I haven't tasted the cake however the layers were small. I baked this in a cast iron skillet like my mom and granny did. I had to make 2 layers because it didn't rise like I expected it to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Awesome cake! It was so moist and delicious! I (for the first time ever) substituted applesauce for the oil and I'm sure it tasted the exact same. I made this cake in 2 9" round pans, with the intention of giving the second one to my parents tomorrow. My two young boys DEVOURED one cake, by themselves!!! I did follow the directions to extra topping and I probably will just follow the recipe exactly next time because it was super sweet...but soo, sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I'm giving this 3 stars due to the topping epic fail. It's been a lot of years since I made one of these, so I followed the directions as exactly as possible. A funny thing happens when you melt butter and add brown sugar, it seems to make a peanut-less brittle type candy. I thought that maybe I had the heat too high, so I scrapped that batch and tried again with melted butter, off the heat and stirred the brown sugar in slowly and carefully. FAIL. I had, yet another plate, of brittle. Which I salted and we are eating anyway! The old method I used to use popped into my head, soooo... I melted the butter and poured it into the bottom of the pan then sprinked the sugar on top. SO MUCH BETTER. I followed the directions fom there on out (pineapple juice for orange) cake came out soft and springy and lovely. Had another epic fail while turning it out, but that was all my clumsy fault. Great cake recipe, just be careful of the candy like tendencies of the topping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This was good.... I do have to say I think the way my mom uses it (using boxed cake mis) is better though. It just wasn't as light and fluffy and was a little dry for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Even though there a good reviews for this recipe, I am convinced that there has to be an error in the ingredients. Granted, we didn't eat it while it was still warm, but I have never had a cake turn out so soggy (and I baked it longer than necessary), and the texture wasn't very tasty. I also think a pineapple upside down cake needs a bigger cake portion to balance out the flavors of the brown sugar and fruit. And this yielded only a thin cake--sorry, I won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      not as fluffy of a cake as thought it would be. Next time I might add a little more sugar and no orange juice. The orange juice tasted bad in it and wasn't sweet enough for me. Overall, okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Excellent cake. Orange juice gave it a great flavour and added texture. I also love that only 1 egg is required for this recipe- saves on eggs, especially when you are low on them at home, and it's also healthier. Will be using this as my recipe for pineapple upside down cake from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Great cake! On my trial run I used the leftover pineapple juice. Definitely not as flavorful as with the orange juice, follow the recipe exact! But I did switch to pineapple rings because I think they're prettier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Beautiful cake! I doubled the recipe but made some healthful changes. I halved the amount of butter in the topping and used water as a replacement. I replaced the butter in the batter with applesauce. I also added some pecans to the topping amongst the pineapple pieces. I took other cooks' advice and replaced the orange juice with pineapple juice. My husband had no idea that I had made any changes at all and half the cake was gone when I got up this morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Odd, I followed the instructions, but used pineapple juice instead of the orange others mentioned and stuck it all in a 9 inch circular cake pan...everything was really tasty, but I barely had any cake...it turned into an upside down pineapple tart! lol! Next time I'll probably make twice the batter :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Yum Yum Yum! I have made it twice now, and panicked the second time because I couldn't find the recipe again. But I did, and it was great again. Moist, juicy cake, I used fresh pineapple which needed using up, but still used the orange juice too. I find it difficult to tell when it is cooked, because it is sooo moist. Lovely, thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pineapple Upside Down Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (258 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.1
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    32%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 206.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 48.9 g
    195%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites