Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2002

      This is a really nice cake, the brown sugar gives the pineapple a caramel flavour and makes it lovely and moist. I used a square cake tin and it needed to cook about 15 mins longer than the time mentioned in the instructions. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      Very tasty dessert! I was unsure how to brown the pineapple, as I have never heard or done that before, but I fried it with brown sugar and butter for about 5 minutes. It goes really well with your Sloppy Joe recipe, which we had for dinner tonight, as well! Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2002

      I work in a group home and made this cake for an awards dinner per my clients request. They loved it. I mixed the sugar and butter and poured it over pineapple rings instead of crushed pineapple. It turned out great. Now in my cook book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      I made this for dessert and while eating it I asked my DH how it was. He said it was, "pretty good". I asked him how many stars and he said 14 so I said on a scale of 1 to 5 and he said, "give it a 5, it's good!" I agree so I guess that rates you a 5! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      I accidentally made this with chunkrd pineapple, but it is a very delicious recipe. my husband enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2005

      I made this cake and it was delish! Everyone liked it. Since I didn't have crushed pineapple I just mashed the ones I had (crushed works better that rings because it's more even, also, when I went to pour the batter over the pineapple I was worried there wasn't enough to cover the pineapple but it worked out fine. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I really liked this cake. the topping does become very sweet, and I could prob double it and have it be super yummy. I made my cake in a 13x9 pan, and I bet using a spring pan would work well in getting the cake out without disturbing the topping, as I found that part tricky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I really liked this. I used chunk pineapple because it was what was on hand; a 20oz can. I think a bigger can would have been a little better -- the size wasn't specified. I took it out ten minutes early because it was burning. It was easy and fun to make. The carmelized sugar became VERY sweet, like candy, almost too sweet (and stuck in my teeth!) but overall I liked this and will make it again. My husband, who dislikes pineapple, didn't care for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This is now my husband's favorite birthday cake! Thanks for sharing this great recipe Kurt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Delicious! I'll make it again! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

    • on September 24, 2007

      I tryed this recipe and it came out really well. I do want to note that I tryed this in a gas oven and an electric oven and there is a time difference in this. The gas over was 15 minutes extra. I live in a higher alt too. Thanks so much Kurt for this simple recipe. Its a hit with the famly on birthdays..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Cake turns out great, light and fluffy. My pineapple doesn't caramel as I cut down the sugar to slightly more than 1/4 cup. I arranged pineapple ring with cherry in the centre, looks great and taste delicious !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      My daughter-in-law Wendy made this for her husband's (my son) birthday cake today. It was such a success I plan on making it myself sometime soon. Although I didn't make it this time I sure enjoyed eating it. Thanks for posting such a delicious cake recipe Kurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      I made this cake it wasn't what i was expecting but a great hit with the family definately would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      Kurt, my family didn't know but I lessened the sugars. The brown sugar I cut back to 3/4 cup packed, the other sugar to 1 cup. I've always picture this cake with the pineapple rings with marchino cherries in the center. I then spread the crush pineapple and batter all in a 9x13" baking pan and bake for time you listed.Everyone enjoyed this cake and asked me to make sure I had it in my collection! Thanks again, it was FANTASTIC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      This was excellant! My friends said it was the best they have ever had. I piped some cream cheese filling (see Pumpkin Cake Roll With Cream Cheese Filling) on top and it complemented very nicely. Pan size was vauge so I baked it in a 10" cast iron skillet - worked great. Thanks, I'm making it again for a pot luck this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1082 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3607.7
     
    Calories from Fat 800
    22%
    Total Fat 88.9 g
    136%
    Saturated Fat 51.0 g
    255%
    Cholesterol 750.7 mg
    250%
    Sodium 1650.1 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 678.2 g
    226%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 526.4 g
    2105%
    Protein 39.6 g
    79%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed pineapple

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes