25 Reviews

Fabulous buttery goodness!! Delicious....10 star recipe!! Thank you for posting! I sub butter for margarine...and pineapple juice for milk.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP May 30, 2011

The best recipies I have found for PUC. I did substitute pineapple juice for half of the milk then added a little more juice and also used 1/2 tsp almond extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. The cake was flavorful and moist and the topping was perfectly sweet. It got rave reviews from dinner guests and husband. This one is added to my cookbook, thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msstebby April 27, 2012

Very tasty cake! I made two--one dairy-free, with Fleischman's unsalted margarine, and one with butter. For both, I used pineapple juice instead of milk. Both cakes were VERY moist. The DF cake, I made in a 9x9 square pan. The butter one, I made in a 9" round, but all the batter would not fit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaStudySmart April 06, 2015

Like a previous reviewer said, I, too, used butter instead of margarine and added some of the pineapple juice along with a little milk. It came out moist. I used a 9 inch non stick cake pan. This was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA October 25, 2014

Delicious Pineapple Upside Down Cake. I substitute butter for margarine and used one can of large pineapple chunks instead of pineapple rings and arranged chunks in circular fashion. Also used a 9 inch round cake pan and it turned out fabola. Hubby and daughter Sarah enjoyed it. I will make this beautiful cake again. Thank you for posting CookingMonster.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2CooknBake May 05, 2011

This recipe turned out very good. The sugars and butter didn't caramize as brown as I wanted. Stuck it under the broiler for a few seconds! Flavor was perfect and the cake was moist and heavy like a pound cake! Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Carlotta March 22, 2011

Really-really good cake! I used all butter,1/3 cup milk 1/3 cup pineapple juice (from the can). I WELL greased a bundt pan in addition to the butter on the bottom lined the bottom of the pan w/ alternating cherries and pineapple chunks. It was so delish served 1 hour after baking still warm. Thanks for posting this keeper :O)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Gourmet Girlfriend September 17, 2010

I am giving it a 5 star as it was a very nice, moist, well baked cake. it was turned upside down perfectly. I mixed pineapple juice and milk to add it 3/4 cup. The kids didnt like it but my DH & I liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swetaweb July 27, 2010

Wonderful Cake! I doubled the recipe and put it in a large pan to take it to a church dinner. I also used butter instead of margarine. Then I made a single one just for my family. They loved it. Will definately make this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammyLouise March 07, 2010

This is definately a keeper! I made it just as it was written except I too used real butter for the first step. It baked up perfectly, was easy to remove from pan, and tasted wonderful. I'll be adding this to my tried and true file. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY April 21, 2009
Pineapple Upside Down Cake