9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just love this stuff! It's similar to my recipe, but no cooking! I halved the recipe, and will be drinking this often! Thanks Kate! Made for ZWT4 and the Fancy Feinschmeckers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 29, 2008

I followed Marra's inclination on this and used some fresh pineapple juice, but followed suit in every other ingredient. I am not a clove person per se/ however; in this drink it does bring out the taste of the pineapple and gingerroot. I made in the morning and then dumped it over some beautiful, fancy ice cubes and at the end of the day, made a refreshing wonderful, delicious drink. Perfect for the hot, Maryland weather, and will make ahead again. Garnished with a sprig of mint. Thanks, Chef Kate! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 27, 2008

Cool and refreshing. We made the frugal version, using this recipe with the peel and core of the pineapple, and the fleshy parts in another recipe. I sliced the gingerroot and doubled the cloves, but still had little spice taste in the finished juice. I would increase the cloves and grate the ginger next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady June 27, 2008

This recipe was definitely worth the making, as unusual as the combo of ingredient sounds to me! I appreciated the combinaton of pineapple & cloves, while the gingerroot added a nice 'something' that made this drink well-worth making! Thanks for sharing a great recipe! [Made & reviewed while touring Africa on the Zaar World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 23, 2008

loved this. I cheated a little because the store came out with 100% pure pineapple juice and i used it as the base with fresh pineapple pieces. Refreshing and delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba February 08, 2008

This is very nice and fresh fruit drink! I enjoyed it as is and also with a splash of coconut rum - yum :) I also mixed some of it 3 parts water/1 part spice drink and found it makes a delightful and refreshing flavored water to drink during/after exercise! Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof January 23, 2008

personally, i would not take the time out in the kitchen area to make this drink. but it does look alright

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mazzda69 January 23, 2008

This is a great pineapple drink, Chef Kate. I love the spiciness of the drink. I let the mixture sit in the fridge for two days. It was so good. I served one drink plain and one with coconut rum, both were delicious. An excellant refreshing drink that I will be making often in the summer, thanks very much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 22, 2008

YUM! What a refreshing drink... I let mine steep for a day and a half and the flavours of the cloves and ginger really came though nicely. The amount of sugar is the only problem for me.. I found this a little too sweet, and I think that the pineapple juice released is sweet enough so will cut way back on the sugar next time. please see my rating system: a lovely 4 stars for a refreshingly soft spicy drink that I will be adapting just a little when I make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch January 12, 2008
Pineapple Spice Drink