14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This yummy treat is so easy-to-fix + ingredient-friendly & the crock-pot cook method avoids the usual muss & fuss. I was using sml cans of crushed pineapple w/flip-top pulls to open, 1 of them broke off completely & I could not get the can open. I had already opted to use the juice from the pineapple to cook the rice & that worked well to help adjust for the short amt of pineapple as the flavour was outstanding. I am sure it would be even more flavourful, textural & colourful w/the full amt of pineapple. I ckd it at 1 hr, gave the pudding a quick stir & ckd it again at 2 hrs. The pudding was creamy & nearly done, so I shut off the c-p & let it finish cooking (a method I recommend). I sprinkled the top w/a bit of brown sugar + the opt chopped pecans to serve. This is comfort food at its finest. Congrats on your *Football Pool* win & thx for sharing this keeper recipe w/us. :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis January 09, 2009

This deserves 5 stars as an accommodating base recipe. I began by cooking a cup of arborio rice in coconut milk, the drained pineapple juice and a splash of orange juice. I used all the rice I had cooked, a 20-oz can of crushed pineapple and used at least a full cup of sugar. Three eggs and a pint of half and half was still fine. I used twice the vanilla and also added some coconut rum and some cinnamon, allspice, cloves and orange peel. Since there was more to it than the recipe calls for, it worked better leaving it on high for 3 hours. It was kind of like a pina colada rice pudding and was very creamy and delicious. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. October 16, 2008

I made this for DH who's true fan of rice pudding. As I made it with regular white sugar it's all for him and this is his rating. It took 3 hrs 20 mins for me to call it set. I didn't have any crushed pineapple so I drained a can of sliced and "crushed" it in the food pro. I think that I should have pressed it hard again after the processing because there was a bottom layer of liquid that I could never get to cook in after more than 3 hrs in the crockpot. I did use more rice too (around 1 1/2 cups). Love the crock method!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 06, 2011

This was a very yummy rice pudding. I think it made more than 6 servings as I served 5 and didnt even use half of it. Perhaps my servings are alot smaller than average?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori July 28, 2011

I made 2 servings in my 1 1/2 qt crockpot. I cooked the rice in pineapple juice/water. Used an 8 oz can pineapple and it wasn't too much. When cooled, I topped with Cool Whip, cinnamon, and chopped pecans and it was creamy and thick. Thanks for posting Doug. Made for your win in Football Pool Week 10 - 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn December 01, 2010

What a lovely custard! I baked in the oven for 3 hrs at 300F. and it worked out perfectly. You really can't taste the rice at all, but I gave it 5 stars for ease of making and flavor. Next time I may double the rice or maybe put it into a pie crust with some coconut. Thanks for sharing a keeper. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu April 26, 2010

This was my first time having rice pudding. It was very easy to make & tasty to eat. Made for Zaar Stars Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh December 04, 2009

I loved the fact that I could make this in the crock pot and leave it to do its thing while I went shopping. When I got home I shut it off and let it cool, and it thickened great as it cooled. I loved the pineapple in the rice pudding and it's the first time ever using a fruit in my pudding. The nuts were a nice addition with a dollop of whipped cream on the top. Soooooo yummy! Thank you for sharing it with us Weekend Cooker! Made for Zaar Stars 3/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen March 28, 2009

My first rice pudding in a slow cooker, liked how easy this came together. Also my first with the addition of pineapple. Two and a half hours had it come out nice and creamy. Chopped pecans to top for some of us! Made for AUZ/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry March 17, 2009

very good although I did make this in a casserole dish and baked in a low temperature oven, I reduced the cornstarch to 2 teaspoons, the next time I may omit the cornstarch totally, thank you weekend cooker!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 18, 2009
Pineapple Rice Pudding