22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fabulous and easy recipe! I love it!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Sewell September 14, 2001

This recipe is great and easy to make.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin Sims October 22, 2001

very easy, with little ingredients. i'm eating it right now in between typing sentences. i tried it with a 20oz can crushed pineapple and used the syrup it came in instead of juice. it worked great - but i suggest: use less pineapple if crushed is used (or better yet - add more rice!) dilute the syrup with water it was pretty sweet! now that i've had it warm, i'll try it cold tomorrow.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brave Noodle (njg) February 28, 2002

Its fabulous! Keep us posted on great things like this one!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani September 13, 2001

Delicious!! The only thing I changed was using crushed pineapple instead of cubed. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gil Grillalotomus September 24, 2012

What a winner this is! Modified the recipe as most of the reviews recommended (more rice, a bit less sugar and a mix of the syrup and water). The real winner was taking a teriyaki marinaded, slow grilled pork loin and thinly slicing it and throwing it on top of this rice. Weep for joy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebowalker February 27, 2012

I recommend doubling the amount of rice if you want any leftovers--otherwise it will all get eaten! :) I tried it w/ a bit less sugar and less pineapple juice as recommended, which worked well. Next time I want to try fresh pineapple instead of canned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellifersue July 07, 2010

Someting went terribly wrong for me- at first removal the dish was soup, left it in a little longer and the rice was not all the way done but water/juice was gone. I didn't use that much sugar cause the pineapple itself is sweet enough. I will attempt this again have to find the right amounts of liquid etc for the rice we use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C January 26, 2009

Loved it! Next time I will use more rice as I agree it was a little soupy, and I did add some cinnamon (only because the family loves the brown sugar/cinnamon flavor), but otherwise.. Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
powder_bren June 19, 2008

I made this as a side dish to my Kilbasa Apple Kabobs. It was good but a little disappointing. It was sweet but there wasn't much flavor. I drained canned chunky pineapple and poured the juice over the top. I will make it again but add some salt and maybe a bit of ground ginger or soy sauce. My husband liked it but said it would be better as a dessert. The kids loved it. Thanx for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Palmtreesbend June 03, 2008
Pineapple Rice