22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Flavor 5 stars
Easy 5 stars
Recipe 5 stars
Directions ... 4 stars. Now maybe that is just me. The directions were VERY EASY, but I did it a bit different which for me gave a different texture to the egg in the dish which I liked.

I still give the recipe a 5 because it was very good.

First, I used fresh garlic, I just don't like garlic powder, maybe just me.
Second. I cooked the pineapple first, and also added a bit of thin cut strips of RED PEPPER, I cook it just for 1 minute. Then I added the scallions, fresh garlic and the ham. Cooked another 2 minutes if that.

Then rather then adding the egg to the center, I added the rice and mixed everything up just for a few seconds to combine all the flavors.

Next I mixed the egg with the soy sauce and sugar (I used only 1 teaspoon which was plenty) and added 1 teaspoon of the pineapple juice, added it to the wok and stirred lightly until the eggs were set.

Note: I used leftover Chinese Rice. You know if you order out you always get extra rice. This is what I used. But I usually have leftover rice in my freezer which made this a 10 minute dinner.

Next time, I plan to add a little red pepper flakes to the mix to add a little heat. I also think maybe a little water chestnuts would be nice or even some bok choy.

But, it still was an excellent recipe AS IS. Very nice and simple to make.
Thx Kim

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook June 30, 2011

Loved this! Delicious, very fast, colorful, and well written. Just think it comes from leftovers---another plus in my book. I omitted the salt and sugar, and reduced the soy to 1 tablespoon. Thank you Linky for sharing. Made for Spring PAC 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal March 19, 2013

Love this recipe. Makes for a unique addition to the dinner menu as a side dish or a main course. Also perfectly satisfies my craving for sweet pineapple. This recipe was the first time I ever used white pepper and it will now forever be regularly stocked in my house; amazing spicy flavor!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiLMissMuffet November 29, 2014

Great tasty fried rice! Loved the sweetness of the pineapple with the salty ham and soy sauce. I don't care for green onions so left them out, otherwise made as directed. Served this with some chicken that was spicy and thought it was great as is; if I were to serve this as a main course I would probably add some crushed red pepper flakes for a little kick. Thanks for sharing your recipe! Made for Spring Pick-A-Chef 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof April 23, 2014

I didn't have ham, so I sauteed 8 strips of bacon, then added the oil, veggies (added slices of red pepper and water chestnuts), and followed the recipe exactly from there on. It was so good I didn't even eat the Polynesian flank steak I made to go with it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcarpe February 17, 2014

I made this as a side dish so elected to not use the ham. The rice was sweet, tasty, and the pineapple flavor mixed nicely with the more savory elements. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D August 25, 2013

Very good! I love fried rice and this is a new variation for me. Thanks for sharing, made for ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl August 19, 2013

I did Pineapple Fried Rice with Ham as is and like, I did have the all of the Ingredients to do the recipe, and with WiGal review to me it is so DELICIOUS !!! I've will added this to my recipe book "AS IS" and with WiGal additions TOO. Sarasotacook gave me some good tip's as will I thank her as will. I have four way's to do it!! THANK YOU!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !! I can't leave anything alone! THANK YOU!! ALWAYS READ THE RECIPE IN FULL BEFORE YOU START, then read the reviews. IT IS A 8 STARS to me. I didn't do it for PAC 2013...I did it for me THANK YOU

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA March 20, 2013

I followed another reviewers advice and mixed the sugar (1 t not 1 T), soy sauce and garlic together. I also added a teaspoon of the pineapple juice, a dash of ground ginger, a tiny bit of red chili paste and a dash of fish sauce. It was quite delicious. This is likely to replace my "go to" fried rice recipe. I will simply change out the meat next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
auditme December 22, 2012

Yummy! I used crushed pineapple because it's what I had and the leftovers from a ham I cooked yesterday. I used real garlic, three cloves, and added it with the rice at the end. I also used half sesame and half chili oil to give it more kick. I subbed frozen stir fry veggies instead of pea since my DBF loathes them. He would rate this lower but only because we were out of orange sauce... nothing against the recipe. Super easy though and pretty healthy too. I think we may eat this again next week if we still have ham.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Gwen April 07, 2012
Pineapple Fried Rice With Ham