25 Reviews

I tried this today for lunch and it was really delicious! This was really quite different tasting - I loved the warm pineapple in this dish. I used shrimp for my cooked meat and left out the eggs and raisins (I used extra pineapple instead). I am delighted that with this recipe I was able to turn my leftovers not only into a tasty lunch treat, but also a meal fit for company. Thank you for a really great recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather May 13, 2002

Great way to get rid of leftovers. I didn't have any white pepper, so I made it without; given the other rave reviews, this might have been a necessary ingredient. I'm not sure the recipe as written really serves 4. I used more chicken than called for; next time I'll also use more rice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
osoriogma March 23, 2010

Loved the flavors with the pineapple. I added broccoli and egg but no meat, thought it was too salty so will use 1/4 t. next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 07, 2012

This fried rice dish is now a regular in our household. My hubby LOVES pineapple but normally doesn't care for rice (considers it to just be a "filler"...)...but he loves this dish. Please see my alterations & tips for this recipe on my blog: http://kitchenandcraftadventures.blogspot.com/2011/06/pineapple-fried-rice.html

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenAndCraftAdventures July 19, 2011

enjoyed this, left out the raisins and used sesame oil as a finishing touch

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu June 08, 2011

This is pretty good. Just a word of warning, after reading other reviews that said the white pepper was the key to this dish, I thought that I'd add a bit more of it....big mistake! Don't overdo the pepper or you end up with a really spicy hot dish. I ended up adding more sugar to compensate. It still turned out pretty good, but I think it will be even better tomorrow after it has been in the fridge for a night. Also, next time, I might skip the egg. It just makes the rice mushy rather than fluffy. I don't think it is all that necessary...enjoy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsbeetoo March 10, 2010

Great flavors and easy to make! We added peas and carrots for our veggies and stirred the cashews into the mix when cooking. We also love extra eggs and prefer to double the recipe since it is so good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel December 11, 2009

This was so good. I think it's probably the best fried rice i've ever had and my bf agreed. I used diced celery and carrot for my veggies but used double the amount recommended. I had to use chives instead of spring onions cuz it's all I had. I definitely recommend sauteing the veggies and then adding the egg and letting it cook before adding the rice and other ingrediants. I think the small amount of sugar and the flavor of the white pepper totally balance out this dish. I left out the raisins but threw in the cashews and let them cook w/ the dish for a couple minutes instead of just sprinkling them on top. This was devoured!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KHARRISON July 21, 2009

we did a little modifying because someone is picky but we loved it nonetheless

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbrgrl May 08, 2009

Loved it. I made it on the fly to pair with a turkey tenderloin I had bought at the store that was preseasoned with "Island Spice" and it paired perfectly! I had all the stuff in the house to make it and the one thing I did was add the juice of the pineapple too since I used a small single serving pack. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SVSOUZA February 28, 2009
Pineapple Fried Rice from Cooked (Leftover) Rice and Chicken