26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We have always made this recipe in my family, but we mix the sugar, flour and cheese into the pineapple then put the crackers and butter on top. I think it gives it a more blended flavor. Regardless, this is a wonderful dish for any occasion.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindan96 July 25, 2008

Just made this for our Bible study pot luck Christmas Dinner. Had problems with my oven and was a little skeptical about the cheddar cheese and pineapple combination. Well, everyone loved it, and asked me for the recipe!! I did change it a bit; this is what I did:
1) Added a bit more of the Ritz cracker crumbles (2) Layered only 1 can of the pineapple on the bottom of the casserole (3) Then combined the other can with the cheese, flour and sugar (4) Added about 1/3 of the crackers to the cheese/pineapple mixture (5) Then placed remaining crackers on top of casserole.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schnookee December 24, 2011

I make this casserole too, but I use 1 can pineapple chunk, drained with 1 can pineapple crushed drained. I use a roll of the Ritz crackers & I crush them and mix half with the pineapple mixture. I don't add the flour because I put the Ritz crackers in the mix and on top. It seems to thicken it up, just nice. My DH loves this dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dnichols November 24, 2008

A bit sweet for me, but the kiddos loved it. I think it would be great with ham or anything savory you would normally serve with pineapple. So easy to make! Thanks for the taste of the South! Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall August 07, 2014

Yum! We both really liked this one. I took another reviews advice and mixed everything together then topped it with the Ritz. Really fast to put together, tasty, and so different. I passed this one on to my Mom and they enjoyed it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty April 13, 2010

Seriously a recipe worth 10 stars!! This recipe ROCKS. I made it for a gathering of friends on saturday to serve with a ham, and it was PERFECT! Everyone loved it and this recipe will be made often! I used splenda in place of the sugar, and no sugar added pineapple..YUM. Thanks for sharing this one DiBs!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMere April 05, 2010

I made this as written for our Easter buffet. It was good and went well with ham but I had alot left over. Some people thought it was dessert. Was good and tasty but don't think I'll make it again. Sorry. I just wanted to add that the leftovers were wonderful cold. I fried some cut up some hotdogs and we mixed them with the casserole - it was reeeeealy good. I'll make this again with a layer of coin sized hotdog pieces as the base.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeph's Wife April 09, 2008

I made this for church holiday party. Fingers crossed and it was a huge hit. I did combine the pineapple with the cheese/flour/sugar like the other reviewer. It was nicely blended. Reheated nicely too! The reviews from my sunday school class were so favorable that I will bring it to the in-law's house for Christmas Dinner! It goes perfect with ham. (bite of ham, bite of casserole....repeat! Delicious!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KFHnow December 09, 2013

We really enjoyed this casserole. DH went out this morning for some ice cream to top his bowl of warmed casserole for after dinner tonight! It was quite sweet so next time I'll add some fresh blueberries for little tartness. I don't have DH's sweet tooth! I love the ease of this recipe and always have those ingredients on hand. It will be handy for unexpected company!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka December 06, 2013

I brought this to a New Year's Eve Potluck; I knew she was serving ham and thought this would be a good side dish. Boy I think I should have doubled the recipe; it was gone in a flash! THX.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom December 01, 2013
Pineapple Casserole