13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't have any coconut or pecans on hand, but I made it anyway. It was still really good, even without the extra toppings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri S. June 30, 2014

I've made this cake twice now. It is very moist and tastes wonderful. I find that it does take a bit longer (10 to 15 minutes) to cook in the center, but it is lovely and well worth your time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds August 22, 2013

Delicious! Impossible to eat only one piece. Made this using walnuts instead of pecans because I didn't have pecans on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherfeather2 October 10, 2012

I substituted walnuts and used a brown sugar/Splenda mix in the topping. This is a wonderful cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
889318 January 30, 2011

This cake was moist and light. Personally, I thought it tasted better the second day as the topping wasn't as dry and crunchy but this is personal preference. Next time, I may slightly reduce the amount of brown sugar as I found it super sweet, but this is personal opinion from someone who doesn't like overly sweet things!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsrexy April 14, 2009

I make this into muffins and these go really fast at work! I omit the walnuts because I prefer just the coconut taste. Thank you for posting the wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 March 06, 2009

Simply wonderful! I made 2 of these today, one for at home and one for my better half to take to a work thingy tomorrow. This cake was just perfect, light and super moist on the inside & the sweet crunchy topping on the top! I didnt change a thing and dont see any reason to in the future, it was perfect as is. Thanks for sharing a new wonderful treat to share with my family and friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy in da South February 12, 2009

Made this mouth watering cake a week ago, had to freeze it due to the affair I made it for being cancelled. Thawed it out and boy was it great. Everyone loved it. It was extremely moist, light and fluffy. Will definately make again soon..nita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl February 02, 2009

Exceptionally good!! This cake is so light, fluffy, buttery and moist. The topping is the perfect crunchy addition. So easy to whip together, yet comes across impressive. Delightfully good!! Thanks cookin4my3boys, this recipe is a sure winner for any occasion ~ Sweet sunshine in a pan:) !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free September 25, 2007

Yummy...thank you so much for sharing your excellant recipe cookin4my3boys;it makes a soft, tender, moist cake, with a crunchy sweet, crumbling topping. My dh's eyes fell out of his head when he first saw this wonderful cake. I can't wait to see how it tastes tomorrow, if it lasts that long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 20, 2006
Pineapple Cake