123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were fantastic!!! Probably one of my favourite meals now. I made the recipe exactly as it was listed and I wouldn't change a thing next time. Thanks for posting it!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. January 25, 2011

This was pretty much the most delicious recipe I have ever made from Food.com... My whole family is in love! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Delishis November 19, 2010

We're trying to incorporate fewer meat meals in our diet. The important thing when selecting a dish is that it's hearty enough that you don't miss the meat. Not only did I NOT miss the meat, I adored the fusion of flavors and texture. Fantastic. I'm coming back to this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven August 08, 2010

I have made this 3 or 4 times in the past few months and everyone in the house loves it. (Even the 1-year-old who is still not so sure about certain foods gobbles it up.) Once I was out of red pepper when making it, and substituted frozen corn, which works nicely.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piloteminuit July 13, 2010

Mmmm! I really like this one. Definitely helps to add a bit of spice and extra beans. I'm lazy, so instead of making the enchilads, I layer everythink like a lasagna and cut it into squares. I also use corn tortillas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mccormaj October 17, 2009

I was very hesitant to make this recipe after reading some of the mixed reviews that are posted. Thankfully I decided to just try it and see how it would go. I prepared the bean mixture using Bush's seasoned black beans and a 15 ounce can of pineapple tidbits instead of a 20 ounce can. I added the cilantro, but not the cheese, and sprinkled it with cumin. I then left to our son's karate class for about an hour and a half. *** When I returned I added the cheese and prepared the enchiladas. I used 6" tortillas and the result were 14 enchiladas. ***** These were simply fabulous. They were flavorful and the combined ingredients were perfectly commingled. They were not mushy nor were they too crisp. I baked them for 30 minutes covered and about 15 minutes uncovered. ****** Our six year old RAVED as he ate, and he ate way more then he should have. LOL He begged for me to make it again this week, this weekend and next week. He gladly ate the onions and the red pepper (both are things he usually picks out.) Our adult palates also enjoyed this dish. The enchiladas were delicious and filling. 2 enchiladas were all I could eat, and even though I was full.... I wanted more! I could see this served in a restaurant as a special of the night. ******** For those that thought the bean mixture was bland, make it ahead of time to let the flavors blend. Thanks mrib.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper October 23, 2008

This was good. Next time I would used crushed pineapple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 September 19, 2012

OMGosh, these are good. I did not miss the meat at all. In fact I think if I didnt know it, I wouldnt have guessed it. My only difference was to use dried cilantro, and I added cumin and smoked paprika to the mixture, along with orange, green, and & red peppers - all in small quantities.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gopintos November 19, 2011

WOW!! This was a great surprise. I actually added some ground beef because my DH can not understand a meal without meat. But after i made it he actually said he would eat this again without the meat. i was shocked. This really is a great filling, i would actually use this filling for a salsa. it was that good!! THANK YOU mrib, i will definitely make this again and again. i'm forwarding this recipe to my family and friends too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Benah October 25, 2010

REALLY delicious! I would agree with other reviews- go a little heavier on the black beans and lighter on the pineapple. These are also delicious leftover!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaciemdoll August 06, 2009
Pineapple-Black Bean Enchiladas