9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Better than my best meatball recipe! I did make my own meatballs, but the sauce was out of this world! Thanks a bunch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannibal Homegirl November 03, 2007

What could be easier; this is really tasty too. I had a jar of apricot and pineapple preserves so left out the chunk...served over pasta. ThX for posting. Made for CameraLess Chefs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks August 15, 2007

This is actually my go to meatball recipe. People love it too. I have been using it for years and can't believe I forgot to review it...I use sweet baby rays bbq sauce. the meatballs always seem to disappear :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristal H. February 02, 2014

We thought this was good. My kids ate it, and although my 3 yo son is super picky, he ate nearly the whole serving I put on his plate. I did leave out the brown sugar, and didn't miss it. Between the BBQ sauce and the sweet preserves, it was plenty sweet for us. If I wasn't serving it to my kids, I'd love to put in some cayenne or hot curry powder. We will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly June 17, 2013

I thought this was going to be ridiculously sweet...however, the original spice Jack Daniels bbq sauce really provided a nice lingering heat. I served over basmati rice. The whole family enjoyed these meatballs. SO SIMPLE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weedle October 12, 2009

Wow! I took other reviewers' advice and cut back on the BBQ a little bit. I also didn't have apricot preserves, so I used Strawberry. Oh my holy immortal God this was GREAT!! I needed something quick after our plans to eat out fell through. This was a hit! I hate pineapple and I still licked my plate clean, pineapple and all. I also halved the recipe and eyeballed the BBQ sauce and strawberry preserves. I tasted the sauce as I went because I didn't want it to be too overpowering. Thanks for the great keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Jennie March 31, 2008

This was very enjoyable. DH and DS thought the sauce was a bit much after awhile. I only used one bottle of BBQ sauce instead of 2. We served this with rice. I'll be making this again! Wish I'd had this recipe last week for a potluck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenjie March 29, 2008

I tried this and loved it... and I think the person that gave it 2 stars did something wrong, cause it is delicious! And if a whole group of people ate it and keep requesting it, doesn't that tell you something?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
half yank February 12, 2008

I'm sorry to rain on the 5-star parade, but I thought this was just okay. I followed the recipe to a "T" and we just werent crazy about it. I served it as a main dish and maybe that was the problem. I will say that it was very easy to put together and the sauce could be easily halved using the same amount of meatballs. I would encourage others to try it because maybe it just wasnt our cup of tea but is appealing to the masses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama November 19, 2007
Pineapple Barbecued Meatballs