10 Reviews

I have to admit I changed this up quite a bit but it was absolutely delicious. (I kind of hate when people review a recipe, give it only 3 stars, and list the 15 different changes they made! But this recipe was great as is. However, I just had extra things lying around that I decided to use as well.) I used frozen pineapple, one banana, 1/4 C of unsweetened shredded coconut, 1 tbsp coconut oil, a thin slice of ginger, and a whole peeled lime. I used unsweetened coconut milk. Holy cow, that sucker was amazing! Tropical, yummy, smooth and creamy, with just a bit of zing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
operababe_61 August 20, 2014

I have to admit to using canned pineapple because it's what I have and the local store doesn't carry fresh pineapple. Allowing that fresh would undoubtedly be better, this was still very good and it made a lovely lighter lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 28, 2011

Very refreshing. I used a granny smith apple which gave the drink a nice tartness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 19, 2011

Oh tropical & really delicious. It was a bit of work because straining it through the sieve makes it the perfect 5 smooth, creamy stars. I used bananas that were a bit under ripe (a little green tip), Thai coconut milk that was strangely separated even upon shaking the can before opening, but it blended up fine, red delicious apple, plus the fresh pineapple. I may make this again. Made for ZWT7 The Pacific Islands, for my team Food.Commandos

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat June 14, 2011

LOVELY!! I used freshed juiced coconut cream and frozen 'nanas and made it in my smoothie machine...super creamy and delish...enjoyed on a freakishly warm day in March here (close to 80 degrees in central NJ!!!) ...was like taking a trip to the tropics in a glass- THANK YOU!!!- made for "I Recommend Tag"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free March 18, 2011

Absolutely enjoyed the combo of flavors here, & although I don't usually use coconut milk in the many smoothies that I make, I'll certainly be including it more often now ~ I did use frozen bananas to add a frosty chill to it! Thanks for sharing a great beverage. [Made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 11, 2010

I used young coconut milk and enjoyed it with the bananas, pineapple and apple. Thanks! Made for PRMR game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 20, 2010

Just get me to a blue water and white sand beach and I'm set. Had a light dinner and this was great to go with. As soon as I sipped it I thought "Oh, Blue Hawaii".Loved the pineapple/coconut combination. Had to make the coconut milk (boiled the milk with coconut flakes then through everything in the blender with the rest.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 08, 2009

What a lovely smoothie Shuzbud. We enjoyed this lovely treat very much. The pineapple, banana and apple blended beautifully with the coconut milk. A nice smooth, creamy, refreshing, pineapple flavor. I will be enjoying this one again. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 07, 2009

NICE!! What a nice tropical, relaxing drink. Made no changes here, plan to repeat again. Loved the pineapple flavor. Made for New Zaar tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker May 05, 2009
Pineapple, Banana and Coconut Smoothie