28 Reviews

I made this and took it to work with a fruit tray. Oh my goodness, I have never heard such squealing. This is "to die for" scrumptious. Thanks for posting this. I will definitely make it again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' April 20, 2002

I agree with NurseDi. This is an absolutely fabulous dip. The combination of the coconut and rum extracts is what takes this dip over the top!! Thanks Stewie, for sharing this dip. :-)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot September 15, 2002

Dear Finicky, It is a good recipe. Don't feel bad about the recipe. If I make this in the summer at a swimming party or summer birthday party it is gone in nothing flat. Men , women and kids are gobbling it up. Come winter it just sits there. It took me a while to realize the season was a factor in whether or not it was eaten. My recipe calls for one yogurt, and a small cool whip. I use Vanilla, coconut or rum or almond extract and only 1/2 t of flavorings and taste. I don't always use more, sometimes I do. But I always use 3 flavorings. I make this 2 ways: 1 as sugar free as possible, the other full sugar....a diabetic in the group and WW girls. Good luck.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grfox33 November 19, 2008

Yum! I used regular pudding, not sugar fee, delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn_B December 28, 2007

This was a hit at DS's confirmation reception. Everyone asked for the recipe. We made a second batch and layered it with pound cake and fruit to create a yummy trifle. Thanks for a great recipe Stewie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast May 07, 2007

This is truly delicious! I omitted the rum extract (personal preference) but did everything else the same and we all loved it! I love the light, fluffy texture and the coconut flavor is just the right amount! I have the same Dayton Hudson cookbook but never tried the recipe until I saw the 2 rave reviews here. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 May 10, 2003

WOW!! This is fantastic. I just made it and tasted it before I put it in the fridge. It is amazing! I can't imagine how good it will be after the flavors blend and develope. I think I'll have to make this for our July 4th cookout! But I think I better double the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsGeorge February 08, 2013

Sooo Easy and Sooo Good- Every time I make this it gets rave reviews and I get asked for the
recipe. I like to put it out with the appetizers, better to eat fruit than chips, and this goes well
with tropical drinks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepper03 April 02, 2012

This tasted great....I used greek yogurt otherwise followed the recipe...good appy for xmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc December 27, 2010

I just made this for a party and it was great. The extracts made it taste so much like a real pina colada but even the pregnant ladies could indulge. I used regular pudding rather than sugar free which made it turn a strange yellow color until I added the cool whip, then it looked good. I wonder how it would be with cream cheese in it... hmmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hbclegg February 01, 2010
Pina Colada Dip