9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

How delicious! This was very simple and quick to put together and had an outstanding result. I made mine in an oblong cake pan and put all the topping on top. Very nice! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau December 31, 2003

ok picture this. Last nite we had friends over to grill 2 inch thick t-bones with potatoes and grilled jalapeno poppers! We were all on on covered deck and the tem was about 102 degrees. We had all just come in from the pool and were finishing a great dinner when someone asked what was for desert. I smiled and went to the fridge and pulled out this cake that I made the nite before. I served this around to the group the first ones that had been served where finishing their plate going for another piece!!Everyone commented on how refreshing it was. The whole cake was gone in 30 minutes!!! Followed thr recipe and wouldn't change a thing. I would give 10 stars if I could!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niteflyer July 21, 2012

This was pretty tasty - i LOOVED the frostings - so light and and delish! But the cake seemed to be lacking a bit - not very flavorful. I'm thinking that I'll be using this frosting on the pina coloda cake from the Cake Mix Dr. book. It calls for coconut milk, pineapple, etc...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker October 25, 2005

I made this for a Christmas party, and it was a big hit. It's light and just right for a dessert following a big meal. Thanks so much for posting it. I used my stand mixer and went ahead and added the mandarin oranges before mixing. Of course, it mixed them into the batter, and it was excellent that way. I also used a 9x13 pan, and added an extra 15 minutes of time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaKathy December 14, 2004

Absolutely Delicious!! I followed the directions exactly, with a little less coconut. Also, I didn't have any round cake pans, so I used my 9x13 pyrex dish and baked for 10 minutes more than stated. Still wonderful and yummy!! It actually does taste like Pina Colada! My husband REALLY loves this cake and I plan to make it often. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xoxo*Steph August 15, 2004

I made this cake like in the picture, in an oblong pan with the frosting on top. The cake is very moist and my family and I loved the tropical flavor from the pineapple and coconut. This is a great quick dessert. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerri822 June 12, 2004

Good and easy, what more could you ask for! I made mine in a 9x13 and it turned out great. I took it to a neighborhood picnic and everyone loved it. Very refreshing. The next time, I will drain the oranges, mix with cake mix and eggs than add the oranges so they do not get as broken up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbebaking May 15, 2004

It was an easy cake to make and was good.It was not too sweet either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in TN August 24, 2003

My whole family really enjoyed this cake!! Butter recipe cake mix not available here so used plain yellow cake mix. Reduced oil to 1/3 cup and filled cup to 1/2 cup with water. Thanks for a fun fruity cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myount19 July 13, 2003
Pina Colada Cake