12 Reviews

Quick, cute, easy birthday snack for my 4th grader to take to school. She was able to do 2/3 of them all by herself. I had oreos on hand, and peeled the cream out and used tinted, melted white chocolate instead of icing. It worked great. Thanks for posting

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 November 24, 2008

Huge hit, everyone loved them

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SB6 December 10, 2011

I made these for my daughters kindergarten Thanksgiving "feast". They turned out to cute! I used caramel cups for personal taste prefrence and then I melted white chocolate bark and used a cheap mustard bottle (the unused kind you can purchase for picnicks) and used it instead of orange frosting, Yummy and cute and the kids went nuts for them. Thanks for the great idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
startnover November 25, 2005

made these for my son's thanksgiving school play. they turned out too cute. the frosting part was a little difficult- my fingers were sore when i was done from having to squeeze the tube so hard! i couldn't find chocolate vanilla wafers so i used gingersnaps. thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristenErinM November 18, 2005

Made these for our son to take to a party tonight. I am not very creative, I had trouble getting a thin line but then took a different frosting nozzle and made cute orange things on the hat.. These are great for the holiday's. I used thin mints with the reese's.. Thanks for sharing such a cute idea. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faith58 November 04, 2005

I also couldn't find the right cookies. The only chocalate cookies I could find were those diet ones. I didn't think they were sweet enough and liked the idea of using chocolate sandwich cookies that another reviewer used. I made my own orange frosting for decorating and the guests thought they were really cute. I recommend that you cover them with plastic wrap after the frosting dries...I found the peanut butter cup dried out a bit. Thanks for the recipe...I was thinking that if you made a slit in the top of the candy you could put a small piece of cardstock with the names of the guests on it for placecards at each setting. Great idea for next year!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ November 29, 2004

After seeing these posted in a forum I went ahead and made them. I used yellow and orange for the hat bands and buckle. Oh what fun! I can't wait to see the looks on my grandgirls faces when the have one. I couldn't find the thin cookis at the store that I went to, but the chocolate covered oreo cookies worked just fine. (The cookie has a real thick rim!) Another keeper and added to my "Fun things for Children" cookbook. Thanks so much for sharing just in time for Thanksgiving!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrandmaG November 23, 2004

My son and I enjoyed making these. They were easy to make. I couldn't find chocolate wafers so I used fudge shop stripped cookies as the base. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. Everyone thought they were so cute and good to eat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 28, 2008

One of the kids made these for our homeschool Thanksgiving dinner. What a cute idea. Very kid friendly. Everyone raved about how they looked and they tasted good too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom November 25, 2008

Had these at the preschool Thanksgiving Feast today and they were a huge hit! The kids loved them, and my 5 & 8 yr olds loved making them all by themselves! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith .F November 16, 2007
Pilgrim Hat Cookies