Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pilafi Me Throumbi (Greek Savory Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pilafi Me Throumbi (Greek Savory Rice)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2014

      This is the best Greek rice dish recipe that I've found! My husband and daughter love it with chicken souvlaki and lemon potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      We used brown long grain rice and chicken stock. Enjoyed by all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      My hubby and I loved it! My kiddos all enjoyed it as well. I did not have any savory, so I used a little thyme and sage mixed instead. I did think that it needed a tiny bit of salt, so I added that. My husband enjoyed it so much that he barely touched the chicken we had with it, and at more rice! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      Very nice! I used Jasmine rice and simmered for about 15 minutes which worked well. I didn't have the savory but will try it with it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      Just what I needed to go with feta chicken and a Greek salad. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Fabulous, just like they serve at my favorite Greek restaurant! Served with chicken souvlaki and grated sauteed zucchini. Was a little nervous browning over high heat, smelled like burned popcorn and smoked up the kitchen a little. (Still learning how to use an electric stove vs a gas stove ahahah) Only thing I did different was add a tbsp of olive oil after it was cooked to give it more of the consistency I am used to at the restaurant. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This was a very good rice dish. I didn't get the Greek part of it, it just tasted like good rice. But I can't say that I know what Greek Rice SHOULD taste like. In any case, this would go well with any dish. I served it with Greek Seafood Skewers and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Mmmm, very good! I didn't have any parsley, so skipped that. Added instead one rib of celery, finely chopped, with the onions, garlic, and rice. Served with marinated pork skewers, steamed green beans, and a spinach salad. Thanks for sharing your family recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Everyone in the family enjoyed this rice, we will be adding this to our list of regulars for sure. The only thing I may do different is add some toasted pine nuts. I browned the rice then added all ingredients to my rice cooker. Oh, I had to use thyme also as I do not have any savory.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Delish! Reminded me of a dish I had in a greek restaurant years ago. I, too, subbed broth for the bouillon and water, and thyme for savory. My two boys, who only like white rice and soy sauce, devoured this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I've only made once so far, but this is by far the best flavored rice recipe I've found. My daughter, the Rice Queen, especially liked it. I didn't have savory so I used thyme. Thanks Anthony.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Really good rice. Didn't change a thing. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Excellent! Just like at a restaurant, but I'm sure with less additives (i.e. salt). Don;t be afraid pf the popping/browning rice, it is definately worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I just came back to get the recipe again, it's awesome! In fact it's much better than I expected; the browning really does develop the flavor of this dish so don't skip that step. I didn't have savory when I first made this so I used thyme instead and it was still awesome, I first served this along side some home made gyros. Thanks for sharing Anthony!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Easy and tasty recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Wonderfully flavorful without being overwhelming! This was a great accompaniment to Greek Chicken (#9249 ), Baklava Salmon (#108775 ), and Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad (#66596 ).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      really good rice- I used all the spices ( including the savory) and I used 2 cups of canned chicken broth instead of the water/boullion-I served this with a Rib Roast. Thanks for the tasty , albeit a liitle different, recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      It took me going to 5 stores but I finally found the ground savory! This is a lot darker than the Greek rice I am usually served at Greek restaurants and doesn’t taste exactly the same but the flavor was delicious. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I tried this after my sister made if for me and loved it! I don't have the savory so I left it out and I didn't have the bouillon so I used chicken broth instead of water and my whole family loved it. The first time I made it I was afraid of burning the rice, the second time I let it brown way more and it was even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      I used 1 tablespoon dried minced onions, which I think if I do that again I would put it in after the liquids, they browned a bit too much. I loved the nutty taste of the rice; I’ll definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pilafi Me Throumbi (Greek Savory Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.8
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    26%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 275.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes