Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pigs in a Blanket (From Scratch) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pigs in a Blanket (From Scratch)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2011

      I can't believe how many Pigs in Blanket "recipes" called for pre-made dough. Do people really need a "recipe" to figure that out? Anyway, this one was perfect- I was surprised at how good the dough was for being so simple. I didn't roll/cut my dough out or anything- my son and I just pulled a good "chunk" off for each little veggie dog, and it worked fine. Nice flaky layers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was a great dough. It's nice and light and I like the addition of the cheese. I've used several different recipes for making pigs in a blanket and I would definitely use this one again. I used it with one package of lil' smokies and instead of triangles I cut my dough into rectangles to fit the size of the smokies. I did have dough leftover, so I just shaped the leftover dough into a biscuit and it was delicious. This is a great recipe if you want kids to help with the cooking! My 3 and 6 year old had no problem helping me with every step and of course they love mini pigs in a blanket!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      OK, so a few changes I made:
      1) No buttermilk so I used 1 percent milk instead,
      2) Due to 1) above, skipped the baking soda (not needed to cut the acid),
      3) Used shortening instead of butter,
      4) Skipped the cheese,
      5) Added a tad of water to get the dough consistency right (and to compensate for lack of water in shortening and high altitude),
      6) Used a rolling pin, just because I finally found it!
      I halved the recipe, and this was a good amount of dough for 3-4 full-sized hot dogs. Maybe it was the size of the dogs, or ??, but to get them as brown as I wanted took quite a bit longer than 13 minutes. I should have rolled the dough thinner!
      Having said all that, great recipe. Definitely akeeper for the next time I get a craving!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was definitely a great starter recipe, but the only problem was I think it needed a bit more flour. My dough was very wet and difficult to manipulate so I had to add more flour then it worked fine. They were still a hit though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      I made these tonight and they turned out great! My family was pleased to be able to eat "pigs in a blanket" again. I haven't made pigs in a blanket for about 6 years, because I have stopped eating and buying pillsbury and other mass produced brands. (I eat organic most of the time and I want minimal ingredients) I used smart chicken organic hotdogs, and halfed them. I also added a 1/3 slice of Horizon organic american cheese slices inside a slit I made in the hotdogs. For my vegetarian daughter, I used a tofurky sausage for her and she liked it as well. I didn't add the sugar, and I didn't miss it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Just what I needed. I can't get refrigerated dough here in Australia so this was a good (easy) substitute as I wasn't about to start messing around with yeast doughs! I made these for a kid's party and wanted to go a little healthier. I used half wholemeal flour, and added a handful of poppy and sesame seeds for a bit of extra nutrition. I made the dough a day ahead, with much success.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      I cut regular hotdogs into quarters. Everyone loved these. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      Thankyou for posting. These were so delicious and flaky.<br/>My nephews loved them, they just kept eating and eating and eating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      So much fun to make and eat! For 1/2 of the flour I used whole spelt flour. It is a sweet, nutritious flour that behaves more light white flour than whole wheat flour. I didn't have buttermilk, so I made my own by adding 3/4 teaspoon white vinegar to the milk and letting it sit for 10 minutes. The dough is so delicious, it was hard not to eat it raw! It would make a fun puffy pizza crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Had to go through a list of recipes that called for crescent roll dough-not for me.
      Like the addition of cheese. Made as the recipe called for except for an added tablespoon of shortening with the butter. Came out nice and flakey. Used canned cocktail wienies.
      Kids and friends loved them

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      A big thank you to Jimbo, because that helped me a lot! It was a pretty good recipe, my boyfriend liked it more than I did, but he's a giant hot dog fan. I was a little disappointed with the bread, because I have been using mostly yeast bread, but it wasnt bad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      My family enjoyed this for lunch today. My 3 year old had fun helping to make it and roll the hot dogs in the dough. Will make again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Yum. The kids loved these & I felt much better feeding them a version not made from a canned cresent roll :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Everyone in the family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      This recipe worked great for me. i had to use vegetarian hot dogs and they worked wonderfully with the dough. I cooked some of the pigs on over a campfire and it worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Great !!!!! my kids loved em but i used Bar S sausage's instead and thank you for giving a cresant recipe from scratch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This recipe worked great for being in a place where you can't buy cresent dough. It's close enough to the kind in the refrigerated dough section. These were hit. I couldn't find buttermilk so I substituted with milk and a little under a tablespoon of lemmon juice...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      The dough was nice and light. I wasn't sure how much dough to make for 8 regular sized hot dogs, since I was making 2 packages I doubled the recipe. I should have stayed with one recipe. I didn't know how thick to roll it, next time I will roll it to a 1/4 inch, the double almost doubled in size when it baked. I will make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Very good, easy dough. Would have been helpful to know what thickness dough should be rolled out to. Is this a biscuit dough?? It would also be good with a slice of pickled jalepeno with the sausage for a little spice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Great tasting dough, great consistency and pretty easy to do. I am horrible at baking and doughs, but this actually worked out, so if I can do it, anyone can! I used a package of 7 Hebrew National Hot Dogs and cut each into thirds. I had enough dough to wrap the extra hot dogs as well AND make a small rectangular pizza dough for an extra lunch for the kids. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pigs in a Blanket (From Scratch)

    Serving Size: 1 (574 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.8
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    37%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 10.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 170.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    miniature hot dogs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes