Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pignoli Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pignoli Cookies

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2012

      These cookies were delicious!! And so very easy to make. Only change would be to use a disposable pastry dough bag so that cookies can be dispensed evenly and nicely. I didn't have one so I used a spoon, the cookies have to be really set apart from each other as the dough spreads. My new all time Christmas favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      I always go to little Italy to buy these cookies which are my favorite. Now I can make them myself. They came out great just like the bakery. Thank You !!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      This was so easy to put together. They came out beautiful and tasted amazing. The sugary crust and chewy middle is divine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      These turned out beautifully!!! I live at high altitude and followed the directions EXACTLY and they were amazing! I used my cookie dough scoop to drop them into the pignolis and then picked them up on the nut side before flipping them onto the parchment paper. They only made 18 cookies doing them this way but they were good sized. They came off the paper with no issues and tasted just like I remember from childhood. THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Absolutely fantastic!! Easy easy to make and a beautiful cookie when baked! The only thing I would have liked to know ahead of time was to leave lots of space between each cookie as they do spread out. Its our Italian Christmas tomorrow night and I have been baking and cooking for the last few days - and I am very proud of how these turned out! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      These cookies are outstanding. Easy to make and taste great!! The cookie batter is soft even when in the fridge over night. This recipe is a keeper!! Also I used my Silpat. I let the cookies cool and I did not have any problems taking the cookies off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This recipe tastes just like the bakeries. A few comments. It only makes 25 like it says. It is expensive to make. The almond paste is $7.50 and the nuts $4. You find the almond paste by the baking stuff. They are absolutely easy to make. They stick to parchment also though which is no suprise since they are all sugar with only 3 tbs flour. You will not be disapointed. My new favorite recipe. Thank You! Do not preheat the oven as step one as you have to refrigerate the batter for 1 hour before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      These are somewhat challenging to make. First of all, I could not grate almond paste so I crumbled it w/ my fingers kind of like goat cheese. They do call it batter rather than dough because it's gooey when you drop it into the pignolis. You'll have to pick it up from the pignoli side to avoid it sticking to your fingers and quickly invert it onto a cookie sheet. We found that they stuck to our Silpat so do use parchment. After all of this, you will be very happy with the sticky sweet marizpan consistency of these classic cookies!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This recipe just didn't work out for me for a few reasons: 1) In order to use a power mixer on any powedered sugar mixture, one needs a much, much deeper bowl than I was using; when the sugar sprayed all over the counter, I layed off the mixer and blended the sugars/paste by hand 2) I think the whites should be blended separately first? (for the first time in years, I managed to get some yolk into whites-only dough, which couldn't have helped matters) 3) The shaping is much more difficult than it sounds. Even after chilling, the dough was incredibly soft and sticky, requiring more skill than I had. Finally, these cookies spread almost double in the oven, so make sure to place them quite far apart. Despite all the trouble I had, these cookies disappeared quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      I grew up in central New York and this was my favorite cookie from the Italian Bakery. This recipe tastes exactly like theirs. Abosultly HEAVENLY! And very easy to make. Thanks for sharing!! From Michele in Missouri

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pignoli Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 25

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.6
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    51%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites