Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pierogie [peer-Oh-Gee] Potato Pierogies Perogies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pierogie [peer-Oh-Gee] Potato Pierogies Perogies

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2003

      YUMMMMMY! Made these exactly as stated but used a 3.75 inch "Mister Dough Maker" cutter (I thought 5" seemed way too large). I only got 26 out of the batch, but they were THEE best 26 pierogies I ever made...best we've ever eaten actually! For the filling I made 6 servings of instant mashed potatoes and added a cup of cheddar cheese and the onions sauteed in butter into them (had extra filling but that was even good by itself!). Everyone at the table sounded like they were in heaven. It did take me about 1 hour to fill and boil, and then another 15 minutes or so to fry in butter but it was well worth it! Thanks for the great recipe! P.S. I also used a fork to crimp the edges and for the first time no filling escaped!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Rita, EXCELLENT these were very good. My heritage is polish, so I do know alittle about pierogi. Just to give you all a tip: when you boil potato for the filling keep the water from the boiled potatoes and use that in the dough. It makes the dough so pliable. Learn that from my polish grandmother in Poland. I have never used cream cheese before but I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      Great perogies! I have never had or made them before so this was fun to try. I only got 12 so must have made mine bigger, still have some filling left so can make more dough. I did add caramelized onion, bacon to the filling. Served in a cabbage, onion skillet dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      These were great. I used homemade garlic mashed potatoes in them. And served with sauteed mushrooms and onions. My family was in heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      I made this tonight. Good news! - you can use a pasta machine to roll out the dough. Just dust with flour to make the dough non-sticky. Made mashed potatoes with cream cheese, garlic salt, and cream. Then used this recipe for the other part of the filling: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/fromage-fort-recipe/index.html
      Equal parts of each. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      I'm Rita's Sister, I got her started on making pierogies years ago. She is the Dough Pro and I'm the filling expert. This is the best receipe she has come up with. This year we made 29 dozen for Christmas Eve. And they all disappeared within a couple of days. We do have a big Polish Family. -- posted Jan 4, 2003, 1 member found this helpful Note for the Sisters-12-2004 Recipe was x5. Dried Lobster, Porcini and Black Trumptet mushrooms were added to Portobello for the saurekraut filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      These were much easier to make than I expected and turned out yummy! I filled them with a mashed potato, grilled onion and sharp cheddar cheese combo. We then served them with more grilled onions, sour cream and bacon bits. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      Great recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Nice recipe for the dough. My mom used the potato water as was recommended. I used velveta cheese with fresh chives to the mashed potatos for the filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      These were very easy to make. I had leftover mashed potatoes from Christmas and wanted to use them and found this recipe. I don't know why I bother looking in cookbooks when I end up finding what I need right here. I love Recipezaar and have it as my homepage. This recipe made 24 for me. Thank you Rita.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I am a complete beginner when it comes to cooking - I have never once in my life made any sort of dough. I decided to give this recipe a go to get rid of the leftover mashed potatoes, and WOW!! I can't believe I was able to cook something like this from scratch! I give it 5 stars because it's literally foolproof and it was delicious. I boiled them and then fried them with butter and seasoned salt. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Delish & easy to make. A big hit with the family. I made quite a few & only got 1 to taste! Will make them again & be faster to the table to eat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      These were superb perogies, i used mashed potatoes with sourcream and green onions in them for the filling and devoured it. A true comfort food

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Excellent! These were moist and flavorful. I thought they were excellent plain, but then I used a little chive-enchanced sour cream, and they were even better! Thanks so much for posting. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Delicious filling and loved the golden onions on top. I actually used a different dough - Pierogi and Vareniki Dough and used this recipe for the directions on how to roll out, boil and pan-fry with the mashed potatoes, onions and sour cream filling. We enjoyed them very much. Thanks, Rita. Made for ZWT4

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Very yummy! My mom (Rita) makes the bestest pierogies~especially with the help of her daughter. We need to make the dessert piergoies again this year- Yum yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      I needed a pierogi recipe for my first Christmas Eve away from pierogi-making nuns and this one really hit the spot! I don't have a food processor, but I used a pastry blender and some good, old-fashioned kneading for the dough and it turned out perfectly. I boiled the finished pierogies, then pan-fried them with butter-flavored cooking spray (instead of serving them in butter) and served them with sauteed onions and sour cream. Even without the food processor, the whole process only took about an hour and a half, so this recipe is simple enough for me to whip up on an idle Saturday, yet special enough for many Christmas Eves to come! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This dough recipe is faster and easier than the one I have been making for the last 40 years. More tender and flavorful than my old recipe. This is IT from now on! I used my standard filling, adding butter, sauteed onions, and cottage cheese to the mashed potatoes, then panfried them in butter after boiling. Made for 1st Annual Holiday Tag Game. Thanks for posting Rita, sis and I had a great time making these together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      I made these and they were pretty good. I used a bunch of mashed potatoes I had left over for the filling. It took me forever to roll the dough and get it into mini circles, but then I realized that all I had to do was roll the dough into little balls and use my tortilla maker to squash them into perfect circles. Will make again, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      I have never had or made pierogi before, but based on this I'll certainly have them again! This was so much fun to make and even better to eat! I used a mashed potato/parmesan filling. Next time I'd probably put some more flavourings in the potato, I played it safe this time as I wasn't sure how they'd turn out. Lovely recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pierogie [peer-Oh-Gee] Potato Pierogies Perogies

    Serving Size: 1 (620 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 41.5
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    22%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 14.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 49.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites