Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pierogi Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pierogi Casserole

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2003

      There is no temperature noted in recipe. I ended up cooking for 45 mins @ 350 degrees, then 400 or 10 mins. It was very good and my friends, who are also polish and pierogi connoiseurs couldn't believe how much it tasted like the real thing. Looking forward to making again, but would appreciate the proper temperature so it will indeed be complete after 25 mins Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      Wow Tara!! This was great. I substituted Cheddar cheese for the American but that was the only thing I did differently. Talk about a carb-o-licious meal. I have never had a real pierogi but this was mighty good. Family thought so too. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      Our family is a very big fan of pierogi's, and very rarely get them. I am very happy with this substitute. However I used cheddar instead of american cheese,real mashed potatoes, and we also added a bit of garlic with the onion. We eat this on Fridays during lent, it is a great and simple meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      We had a total blast with this one. We added garlic. But I must say this it so very good.We loved everything about this. Thank You

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      I'm from Pittsburgh, and we call this lazy man pierogi. We use cheddar, and bake at 350' for 30 minutes to let the flavors blend. Never have leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This was SO GOOD. Though I used cheddar cheese and we decided it tasted kind of funny. Next time I'll try American. I didn't follow the directions exactly... I layered the onions on top of the potatos and then baked the whole thing until the cheese melted. I used Idaho Red instant potatoes. -- UPDATE: Made this again using American cheese and it was much better than Cheddar. This time I added ground turkey seasoned with Poultry Grill and Broil seasoning, and cooked the onions with the turkey. I only use a couple tablespoons of butter and pour it on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Delicious! I grew up in Pennsylvania and loved pierogis but now live in Illinois where they don't sell them...this was a great substitution!! I cut the recipe in half (more or less - I didn't exactly measure all the ingredients) and put it in a 8x8 dish. To use up noodles I had, I used half lasagna noodles and half egg noodles (lasagna noodles on the bottom, egg on the top). I used one pouch of betty crocker mashed potatoes, which I think was more than the recipe called for - I think it could have used even more potato personally. However, I found the onion to be a little much (I used one medium onion) and the butter to be WAY too much, which I did measure to be exactly half. I would recommend using less to cut down on grease. I also used shredded sharp cheddar. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Mmmmmmm! :) I added garlic in with the onion and butter, used cheddar and mozzarella in addition to the American cheese, and baked this for about 10 minutes at 350. Also used leftover mashed potatoes rather than instant! Definitely will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

    • on February 22, 2008

      My family really enjoyed this recipe - it truly tasted like a peirogi! And it was very easy to make. The only change I made was to pop it in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes to melt the cheese and make everything nice and hot. This will probably become a regular meal at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Im from pa. My cousin from duryea pa.Makes this all the time. I never tasted it but they love it. I plan to make it though.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Made this last night. It was very good. I think I will cut back on the butter a bit next time though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      Sounds delicious and easy. A note to those asking about how long to cook . . . it sounds as if the only cooking involved is the noodles and potatoes, and cooking the onions with the butter. The rest is just assembly of the already hot other ingredients. Although, I imagine you could put it in the oven for a bit, or prepare and cook if everything had cooled down. I'd do 350 for 1/2 hour, myself, if I needed to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      I've been looking for a recipe fro Pierogi Casserole, but how long do you cook this for???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Definitely good stuff. Next time I may add the garlic like the others suggest, but how about some bacon too? Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pierogi Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 715.9
     
    Calories from Fat 355
    49%
    Total Fat 39.5 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 145.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 750.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 21.9 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites