11 Reviews

Very easy to make. Maybe just a little too much cheese for my personal taste, but I have no complaints. (Mind you, it was a tasty cheddar cheese that I used.) I enjoyed it and will be very glad to cook it again. It stores well in the refrigerator and makes a lovely "topping" for toast when cold.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra Hyde November 09, 2002

This was great, my family raved over it! I followed suit and did more mashed potatoes, going with cara66, I used 5 1/2 cups of potatoes. I also adjusted the amount of butter to just 1 stick, I used 2 tbsp. to grease the pan and the rest to saute onion. I only used 1 onion, which was the perfect amount. The cheese I used was half medium cheddar and half sharp cheddar. But this was just simply fantastic!! If I could give more stars, I would. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazzy'sNamma October 28, 2007

Three words for this recipe, Fast, Easy and above all DELICIOUS!! I didnt want to go through the peeling, cooking and mashing the potatoes so i used instant,like a fellow reader, i used 4 cups instead of the 1 cup of potatoes (2 cups for each layer). I am a pierogi fanatic and admit that i was skeptical of all these casserole on recipezaar. I chose this recipe and was glad i did. My boyfriend doesnt like pierogi's and he actually had seconds! Thanks for an amazing recipe. I put a dollop of sour cream on top....it was Heaven...i will make this over and over!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 August 29, 2006

A fantastic dish! I personally thought that there was too much butter, given that the potato concoction turned out very VERY liquidy and I had to add thickener the first time. However, the casserole turned out wonderful, and was much less labor intensive than making individual pierogis.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adrienne R. June 19, 2016

YUMM! I made this according to recipe but doubled it, I did not have lasagna noodles so i used kluski/halushki noodles. It was awesome, i wouldnt change a thing. so cheap so easy so hearty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer V. July 20, 2014

This was so good. I made it tonight. I had to bake it in a 8x8 dish because we'll I don't have a 9x13 dish. I cooked it for 20 mins and it turned out just fine. This will be dinner again. Easy and cheap meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMS6912 February 03, 2014

Very Good! I love that it is so easy. There is so much you can do to make ot your own. Thanks paula&matt for my familys new fav!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn'sMoodyDisch December 21, 2009

this was so yummy my family loves perogis i just dont like to make the traditional ones but this was Great i added sour cream after it was on my plate and you cant tell the difference next time ill try it with bacon crumbled in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmaboo August 22, 2006

I really like the combo, but didn't use ANY butter, and substiuted fat free cheddar for the regular cheddar. Still came out wonderful, and much lower calorie. :) THanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
controlledfreak October 11, 2005

Very easy dish to make, I did not think 1 cup of mashed potatoes was enough so I used approx 4 cups could have used a little more, I only used 1/2 an onion(I'm not big on onions) I also had some leftover bacon from breakfast, so I crumbled it into the sauted onions(great addition). My son rated this 5 stars. Very good recipe will make again soon! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whsky Grl August 10, 2005
Pierogi Casserole