15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone, I would like you to meet an incredible Pie Crust that didn't leak or crimped edges that didn't melt flat in the oven. Pie Crust, meet everyone.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 13, 2012

This turns out very nicely. My first go at it I pressed the dough into the pie plates instead of rolling it out so that I didn't handle it very much. It's light and crispy. Definitely earned 5 stars for me since crusts have always eluded me. I will be using this recipe again soon for more pie crusts. 11/24/10 - update - Yes, this is the GO TO recipe for a crust. I mix the shortening in the flour. Blend the wet ingredients in a separate bowl - and then gently mix it in flour mix. Roll it and go! Perfect crust for pumpkin pies! It received rave reviews. I would give 10 stars!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn November 25, 2010

Very easy to make and it was tender and flaky.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie September 11, 2012

This is a flakey, tasty crust...stays flakey & tasty to the last piece! Like ~any~ pie dough, do not over work it, it will take out all the flakey~ness...this is definitely a 5~star recipe...thanks for posting! :))

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil' sis November 15, 2010

yup. good. thanks. :]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 September 23, 2009

This is a 5 star recipe. Quick and easy. I used it with apple pie and it was so flaky and just the right flavor to be a pie crust. Next time I will that the time to make a large decorative edging because it’s so good it needs to be showcased!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
memphis361 September 21, 2009

Wow, wow, wow!!!!!! This was the best pie crust I have ever tasted! Crusts aren't my 'thing' (I really stink at crimping the edges!) But I cut out little leaves to line the top of my pie! It was so easy, and amazingly good and flaky! My Mum (who won third place at the local Apple Fest) asked for the recipe! This was great!!!! I'll be making many, many pies with this!!! Thanks Big Sis!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noodleme20 August 30, 2009

This recipe had been given to me almost 20 years ago; its the one that always comes out right except when the weather is really humid here in Honolulu. The person who originally gave me the recipe (she cut it out from our local MidWeek Magazine paper) raved about the crust and I had to tell her its the recipe she gave me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoodVibrations February 17, 2009

Loved the pastry, my pastry usually sucks, I can't make it like my mum used to and this works really well. Many thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.a.c.k. July 24, 2008

Thanks big sis,saw this when I looked at your recipes and went in and whipped it up with some fresh blackberries I had bought,omg.!Brought back so many memories of me as a young teenager ,picking blackberries,coming home and making a pie.Good recipe.Thanks,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STARTERWIFE January 18, 2008
Pie Crust - Blue Ribbon