53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried the butter crust last night with a homemade "chicken" pot pie. It was wonderful!! I will be sure to try the others. . This is soooo much better than store bought..sorry Pillsbury!Thanks so much for posting this Paula!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmyfurrbabies February 12, 2009

Paula, its perfect! Thanks for them all! The only one i havent tried yet, was the fried crust. Fav is the butter one, but like the vinegar crust too.. also experimenting with diff kinda flours. Well.. just wanted to say its GREAT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Giga January 24, 2009

Upon arriving home from work yesterday evening, I stepped into a flour dusted kitchen. My girlfriend struggled to get the perfect pie crust for her Thanksgiving Day pumpkin pie. She decided on the "One Crust Pie" recipe with a few minor alterations. Instead of Crisco she went with lard. The struggle came in where she wasn't able to get the right consistency of the dough; however, she decided to upgrade the suggested 2 - 3 teaspoons of water, to a total of 3 tablespoons of water. Don't waste your money on frozen crusts; this is all you will ever need. Oh yeah, the pumpkin pie was AWESOME!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iN TRAiNiNG November 27, 2008

I followed the vinegar recipe exactly except used 1/2 tsp salt. It was very hard to roll out for me with the crust sticking to the rolling pin (even with a floured surface) and breaking a lot....I figured I'd wait until I baked my pies before rating. I have to admit Im disappointed. The crust just isnt what I was looking for. Mealy and not appropriate for pumpkin pies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renm310 November 26, 2008

I used your 1 crust pie recipe for Cheddar Crumble Apple Pie and it was beautiful and flaky. Will be trying the others soon. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norelllaura1 November 16, 2008

Being a vegetarian it's nice to find pie crusts that turn out good and have no lard. Thanks much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crystalrainbow November 08, 2008

Thanks I used this recipe with "Illegal Pot Pie" I made the vinegar crust and it worked great! I was surprised to not even have to chill this before making it, it turned out great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hojo November 04, 2008

I made the one crust pie using Crisco. Unfortunatly, I did not like the crust at all, it had no taste other than he shortening and it was very hard to work with. I think reducing the amount of crisco would help a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean October 19, 2008

I made the butter crust and it was so easy to work with, and tasted very good! I wanted to thank KC_Cooker for the tip on how to roll the dough out it was a tremendous help!! Thanks for the great recipes Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginaaaaaa August 07, 2008

Vinegar Pie Crust - Very flaky pie crust. This is my first time making a pie and the instructions weren't very clear, and a bit difficult to follow (messy). I have to make some basic assumption. 1) Hand-mix ingredients in a large bowl, 2) Knead until the dough turned to a ball (the vinegar pie crust recipe is good to make two pies (no pie top, just pie bottom). 3) Divide the ball into two. 4) On a clean surface, lightly sprinkle some flour so the dough won't stick 5) Put the ball of dough, and gently flatten it, and roll it into however thick/thin you want it to be. 6) Lay on pie pan. If pie crust breaks, just patch up the holes with the extra dough. It doesn't have to look good as it will be covered with pie ingredients. 7) On the edge of the pie, use fork and gently make some lines, for pattern (optional). Hope it helps other first timers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich July 09, 2008
Pie Crust