Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2009

      I tried the butter crust last night with a homemade "chicken" pot pie. It was wonderful!! I will be sure to try the others. . This is soooo much better than store bought..sorry Pillsbury!Thanks so much for posting this Paula!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Paula, its perfect! Thanks for them all! The only one i havent tried yet, was the fried crust. Fav is the butter one, but like the vinegar crust too.. also experimenting with diff kinda flours. Well.. just wanted to say its GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Upon arriving home from work yesterday evening, I stepped into a flour dusted kitchen. My girlfriend struggled to get the perfect pie crust for her Thanksgiving Day pumpkin pie. She decided on the "One Crust Pie" recipe with a few minor alterations. Instead of Crisco she went with lard. The struggle came in where she wasn't able to get the right consistency of the dough; however, she decided to upgrade the suggested 2 - 3 teaspoons of water, to a total of 3 tablespoons of water. Don't waste your money on frozen crusts; this is all you will ever need. Oh yeah, the pumpkin pie was AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I followed the vinegar recipe exactly except used 1/2 tsp salt. It was very hard to roll out for me with the crust sticking to the rolling pin (even with a floured surface) and breaking a lot....I figured I'd wait until I baked my pies before rating. I have to admit Im disappointed. The crust just isnt what I was looking for. Mealy and not appropriate for pumpkin pies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I used your 1 crust pie recipe for Cheddar Crumble Apple Pie and it was beautiful and flaky. Will be trying the others soon. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Being a vegetarian it's nice to find pie crusts that turn out good and have no lard. Thanks much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Thanks I used this recipe with "Illegal Pot Pie" I made the vinegar crust and it worked great! I was surprised to not even have to chill this before making it, it turned out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I made the one crust pie using Crisco. Unfortunatly, I did not like the crust at all, it had no taste other than he shortening and it was very hard to work with. I think reducing the amount of crisco would help a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      I made the butter crust and it was so easy to work with, and tasted very good! I wanted to thank KC_Cooker for the tip on how to roll the dough out it was a tremendous help!! Thanks for the great recipes Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Vinegar Pie Crust - Very flaky pie crust. This is my first time making a pie and the instructions weren't very clear, and a bit difficult to follow (messy). I have to make some basic assumption. 1) Hand-mix ingredients in a large bowl, 2) Knead until the dough turned to a ball (the vinegar pie crust recipe is good to make two pies (no pie top, just pie bottom). 3) Divide the ball into two. 4) On a clean surface, lightly sprinkle some flour so the dough won't stick 5) Put the ball of dough, and gently flatten it, and roll it into however thick/thin you want it to be. 6) Lay on pie pan. If pie crust breaks, just patch up the holes with the extra dough. It doesn't have to look good as it will be covered with pie ingredients. 7) On the edge of the pie, use fork and gently make some lines, for pattern (optional). Hope it helps other first timers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Butter Pie Crust. Super easy to do. Thanks. Held together well and lovely texture. Shrinks alot when cooked so next time I will leave at least 2 - 3 cms overhang. Freezes well. I froze some cooked in the dish and I froze some portions uncooked in a ball in a plastic bag. Defrosted them in the fridge overnight, then rolled them out and cooked. Both worked out very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I am so thrilled! I gave the One Crust Pie a try today cause I needed a top for a pie I had made for lunch. It turned out fantastic :) I was also happy cause it was quick to come together. I am saving this recipe to give the Butter Pie Crust a try next.:) Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Great recipe! I used the butter pie crust recipe and used half butter, half crisco, that way it was flaky but still had a butter taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      The Butter Pie Crust is so good! With as much butter, it should be! LOL I used this for a pie I made, and it was the best tasting pie crust I have ever made. Thank you so much for adding it into Zaar. :) Diggy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      I made the butter pie crust and it was awesome! I didn't know if it would turn out since I'm not much the most experienced pastry chef, but I was pleasantly surprised. I used it for the top to a pot pie. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Great selection of pie crusts! I've used the vinegar pie crust recipe for many years - it was shared with me by a cousin. It is TNT - easy to work with and tasty. I use 1/2 teaspoon of salt like the one reviewer suggested. This is a nice variety so I'll be trying the others out too. Thanks paula giles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      I tried this the other night, I made the vinegar pie crust. I felt it was too salty, maybe could cut back to 1/2 tsp? Other than that crust was nice and flakey and easy to work with. I will probably try again w/ less salt and maybe a pinch of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      WOW!!! The butter crust was AWESOME. Used it with a chicken pot pie. So flakey and buttery. Will for sure use again. I took the leftover dough, rolled it out, cut with a cookie cutter, baked and ate with honey....YUMMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      I have made a few pie crust's in my days but this one worked the best and gave me enough to cover the bottom of my large pie pan. I made my BB pie with it. it was great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      The butter recipe was just what I needed for a fantastic pot pie! I highly recomend recipe number 131287 to make a FANTASTIC pot pie! Thank you so much paula!! This one is in the family cook book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (2287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 548.0
     
    Calories from Fat 331
    60%
    Total Fat 36.8 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 583.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites