Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2002

      The vinegar pie crust is a no-fail crust, you cannot go wrong even if you try. I have used it for years and women who have been the pie queens forever have asked me for the recipe. Men will worship you for the great pies it makes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      The butter pie crust says 1-2 cups flour, that is alot of difference. I am hesitant to try that one. You should try to be more precise on it, for our sakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      The butter pie crust turned out very well for me even though I am not very experienced and making pie crusts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Awesome! i made the vinegar pie crust and the butter, both for a strawberry rhubarb pie. Everyone RAVED about the vinegar, more to than the butter, so tonight, i will be making the vinegar crust again =] Thank you for the awesome recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      This recipe is amazing. My pie crusts in the past tended to become grainy and ashy, but this one was substantial and flaky and smelled amazing. I made roasted veg quiche using the butter crust variation, and baked the crust until it was not floppy (as the quiche recipe called for a prebaked), then poured the wet ingredients in. The crust holds up extremely well when taken out of the pan, and also stayed crisp and flaky after refrigerating the quiche overnight and microwaving.

      I varied slightly in the butter crust recipe: all I had was salted butter, so I omitted the salt and it came out perfectly seasoned (I would still be able to use it in a fruit pie). I also might not have used perfect measurements, but it seems the recipe is solid enough to perform well even with slight variation.

      By far the best crust recipe I've ever used - thank you so much Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Very nice! I used the butter crust for a pumpkin pie (the other half of the crust recipe I froze) and it makes a good solid crust that stands up well to serving. If you are more efficient at pie-crust-making that I, you'll likely end up with a flakier crust too--mine was flaky, but it wasn't quite what grandma makes. Definitely worth a try, and I'm excited to try the other variations! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      In my wife's words, "This crust is excellent!" I whole-heartedly agree. I used the butter crust recipe. For the 2 1/2 C. flour, I used 1/2 C. water. Add 1-2 Tbs.at a time if you think you need more than that. Thanks, Paula!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      I made the vinegar crust for strawberry rhubarb pie and it turned out perfectly. It was easy to make and came out tender and flaky. I will make this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I made the one crust pie for a fresh strawberry pie. It was so easy to make and tasted great. I used margarine instead of crisco but kept the amounts the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      I made a half batch of the butter recipe and it was just the right size for my pie plate. I mixed it in my food processor, added maybe a tsp more water and rolled out between 2 pieces of wax paper. This crust tasted great and was so easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      I made this recipe (Butter Crust) for my very first pie crust making. It turned out GREAT!! I used my food processor and the crust came out very buttery flavored and deliciously flaky. I will NEVER buy a premade crust again. I will definately have to try the other crusts as well. Thanks paula giles for such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      It's particularly galling to me because my mom could just about wave her fingers in the air and conjure up the best pie crust to lay ones tooth upon. Mom's crust has just met it's match (vinegar recipe). Now take a look at my crust. What does that tell you, hhhuuummmm??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      I always use these recipes for making my pie crusts and they always turn out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I have made the butter crust two times now and really enjoy it. I am so glad to have an option without shortening. I process mine in the food processor for ease. Also, it makes enough for two pie crusts so next time I will make half a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      This pie crust make 2 full crusts - top AND bottom. I did the vinegar one and substituted 1/3 of the Crisco with butter...turned out great=) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      I will never need another pie crust recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      The vinigar pie crust is to die for...I used it to make pumpkin pie. I tried to leave out a bit of the stortening and just use 1 cup instead but it really needs the whole 1/1/3. I also added an extra tsp of vinegar just because I love stark contrasts in the tastes, it turned out superb. This crust would be perfect for meat pot pies too. I will keep this recipe for years to come, its a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I did the butter recipe, but halved it because I only needed a bottom crust for a pumpkin pie. It was delicious and flaky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Wondeful flakey pie crust! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I made the butter crust recipe for a chocolate walnut pie and it was delicious! The dough stuck to my rolling pin a little; just make sure you have ample flour on hand. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (2287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 548.0
     
    Calories from Fat 331
    60%
    Total Fat 36.8 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 583.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes