53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The vinegar pie crust is a no-fail crust, you cannot go wrong even if you try. I have used it for years and women who have been the pie queens forever have asked me for the recipe. Men will worship you for the great pies it makes.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eat to lose August 08, 2002

The butter pie crust says 1-2 cups flour, that is alot of difference. I am hesitant to try that one. You should try to be more precise on it, for our sakes.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dolittle57 November 25, 2002

The butter pie crust turned out very well for me even though I am not very experienced and making pie crusts.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christina.ramin November 29, 2009

Awesome! i made the vinegar pie crust and the butter, both for a strawberry rhubarb pie. Everyone RAVED about the vinegar, more to than the butter, so tonight, i will be making the vinegar crust again =] Thank you for the awesome recipes!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil'chef_3 June 22, 2009

This recipe is amazing. My pie crusts in the past tended to become grainy and ashy, but this one was substantial and flaky and smelled amazing. I made roasted veg quiche using the butter crust variation, and baked the crust until it was not floppy (as the quiche recipe called for a prebaked), then poured the wet ingredients in. The crust holds up extremely well when taken out of the pan, and also stayed crisp and flaky after refrigerating the quiche overnight and microwaving.

I varied slightly in the butter crust recipe: all I had was salted butter, so I omitted the salt and it came out perfectly seasoned (I would still be able to use it in a fruit pie). I also might not have used perfect measurements, but it seems the recipe is solid enough to perform well even with slight variation.

By far the best crust recipe I've ever used - thank you so much Paula!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungry hungry sharon August 29, 2010

Very nice! I used the butter crust for a pumpkin pie (the other half of the crust recipe I froze) and it makes a good solid crust that stands up well to serving. If you are more efficient at pie-crust-making that I, you'll likely end up with a flakier crust too--mine was flaky, but it wasn't quite what grandma makes. Definitely worth a try, and I'm excited to try the other variations! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M to the K September 25, 2009

In my wife's words, "This crust is excellent!" I whole-heartedly agree. I used the butter crust recipe. For the 2 1/2 C. flour, I used 1/2 C. water. Add 1-2 Tbs.at a time if you think you need more than that. Thanks, Paula!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii December 05, 2010

I made the vinegar crust for strawberry rhubarb pie and it turned out perfectly. It was easy to make and came out tender and flaky. I will make this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N@ July 17, 2010

I made the one crust pie for a fresh strawberry pie. It was so easy to make and tasted great. I used margarine instead of crisco but kept the amounts the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB2011 June 20, 2010

I made a half batch of the butter recipe and it was just the right size for my pie plate. I mixed it in my food processor, added maybe a tsp more water and rolled out between 2 pieces of wax paper. This crust tasted great and was so easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC August 26, 2013
Pie Crust