8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! I love pico and this is a good recipe. I've had pico with bell peppers in restaurants before, and it works REALLY well in this recipe! I used kosher salt and also added a bit of freshly ground black pepper. Thanks for the recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock June 25, 2002

I see what you're doing.Bell pepper instead of onion.But if you have any latin food ,pico is made with onion instead of red bell.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wesw April 25, 2002

Very bright flavor when the ingredients are fresh. I normally use red onion for additional color and back the peppers down to one or two. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
achristensen14 September 07, 2010

This is awesome! I added a can of black beans, and half a bag of frozen corn, then put out a bowl of tortillas. Next time will have to double the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauri P. August 20, 2008

I made this last night as an after-thought to go with shrimp tacos for those who might want added heat, and it was gone in no time. Very tasty, I used more onion (1/2 cup) and left out the bell pepper, but afterwards wished I hadn't.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bean #2 April 19, 2008

Got NO IDEA about what this sauce/salsa SHOULD taste like, but I do know that, for me, it tastes GREAT! Actually snagged this to be used in another recipe that called for this salsa! I'm assuming that the jalapeno was meant to have the seeds removed (I CERTAINLY REMOVED THEM!)! Also used 1/4 cup of finely chopped onion, & was very happy with the results! Sometime I'll make this again for a Mexican friend of mine & ask his opinion about the taste, texture, etc! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 12, 2008

Thank you for a great recipe Miss Annie!! I didn't want to share it with anyone! I'll make this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleinHI May 09, 2007

This is a wonderfully flavorful sauce! I made this recipe exactly as directed by our Miss Annie! I know someone who is going to want to have this tortilla chips as soon as he walks in the door this evening ; ) Miss Annie, your recipes are tops in my book!! Thanks so much for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 08, 2006
Pico de Gallo