Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Picnic Bread (From South Africa) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Picnic Bread (From South Africa)

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2007

      Wow. These were astonishingly yummy. I had to make a few changes because I didn't plan well to make this recipe. The only major change I made was to use egg beaters (not because I was worried about the cholesterol with all the bacon) since I ran out of eggs. I also cut the salt to 1 tsp, omitted the butter (I forgot it) and the chili sauce. I baked them in muffin cups to help control portion size and they baked in about 30 minutes to a perfect golden brown. My yield was 30 standard sized muffins. Thank you so much for posting this Zurie. We'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I wish I could give it 10 stars! This is now my favorite bread. I did everything as directed except I didn't add any pepper. Like others I needed much less buttermilk than called for (I used about 3/4 cup). One word of warning, for the first set of loafs I used glass loaf pans and the results were not good. They stuck to the pans even though they were well greased, and the texture was just off. The next set I made with metal loaf pans and the results were perfect. I will be making many, many more of these. A hundred thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I loved this bread, but I agree with other reviewers that the buttermilk doesn't seem to be needed at all. I added in a small splash of it, but really, the dough was quite wet already and didn't even need it. I can see a lot of possibilities for this bread, using a variety of meats and cheeses for different outcomes. I'm guessing that my kiddos would love this made with pepperoni and mozzarella cheese as well. I will keep this recipe around for the kids' school lunches and for quick breakfasts on the go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I had eaten an early light dinner tonight, but thought about these when I looked in my refridge and said "hey, there was a recipe I bought these spring onions especially to make". It didn't take me long to find it! This was/is just SUPER! The only thing I altered was to use 1 lb. country ham...HEY! Ya'll from the South!....The ham was purchased from a "local" grocer, and was just ends and pieces, but it was EXTRA lean. The only regrets I have with that choice, is that this particular package was saltier than the usual, and I forgot to soak in milk before using. The second thing, as I think Syrinx(?) pointed out that it was just a bit "eggy". I can't blame you for that, because I too think my eggs were a bit large. These things are easily remedied, and I certainly would not use them to give this recipe anything less than the 5 stars it deserves. I was really going to wait to rate it until tomorrow....after I'd tried a piece toasted in a skillet, but then I noticed someone else had already done that and the result was perfection. This recipe made five mini-loaves for me...about 5 1/2x 3 1/2...1 1/2 deep. Perfect. I ate an entire loaf as they came out of the oven....great alone and with roasted red peppers on top(jarred), and some fruit on the side. Can't wait til breakfast now! I'll still have 3 to wrap and toss into the freezer! This will be a regular around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This was wonderful! Very dense and moist. It's a sandwich all by itself. I was doubtful about using raw bacon in the recipe, but it just baked in and sort of disappeared and left a wonderful flavor. Thanks for this keeper. **** I made it again, but this time I browned the bacon. Not crisp, but still limp, just slightly brown. That really changes the taste of the bread. Though it was good after browning the bacon, it is much, much better using the bacon raw. I won't brown it anymore when I make this recipe, which will be often. I love this recipe. Thanks Zurie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      I love this bread!! I made it into 12 muffins and 1 loaf. I think i used more cheese than was required, close to about a pound, and only needed 1 cup of buttermilk and the consistency was "wetter" than scone dough, but it worked out well. I actually prefer it as muffins. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      I made this into muffins and they came out a treat in only 15 mins. I'll cut out the butter next time as the cheese compensates for it. I also used wholemeal flour and added fresh parsley and chillies. Great recipe thanks, will make again and again. Will try and load a photo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Well even though I didn't have the right sized pans - (had to use mini loaf pans) I didn't have any cream so used buttermilk (its all I had) and forgot the part about only adding enough buttermilk to make soft dough...I added it all - definitely not like any kind of dough (doh! hahaha) AND it still came out delicious, ds ate 3 mini loaves for lunch. It has to be a great recipe if it can endure so many errors and still be so yummy. Thank you so much for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      WOW, talk about a meal in one slice! Great base to create other variations, adding rosemary or other herbs... I omitted the butter since the bacon has more than enough fat for the recipe. If going with a center cut/Can. Bacon or leaner meats, include the butter or even increase the amount. Adding diced fresh veggies, and you've got a quiche that you can eat on the go. Very good recipe that will be used in our kitchen frequently.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      What a fantastic bread this is! I made half a recipe and since my eggs were on the small side I did use all the buttermilk called for. Wow-moist and packed with flavor. I have used it toasted well for salad croutons, sliced on the thin side then made breakfast sandwiches which once assembled I fried in a skillet to get it good and toasted-and for the rest I sliced about 1 inch thick, wrapped each piece then froze in a bread bag so I could take out as needed. It does freeze beautifully! Lovely Stuff Zurie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      Delicious bread! Easy to make and so tasty. It will be great for all of the possibilities listed in the introduction but also for a quick breakfast. I needed only 4 oz of the buttermilk and my pans were not as small as they could have been. It just made for a reduced cooking time and a smaller slice. No worries - I will eat two! <br/>Made in memory of Gideon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      A wonderful recipe that made great use of my own hen's free-range eggs and some very mature Cheddar cheese, as well as some locally smoked lardons and home-grown spring onions. I halved the recipe as there is just the two of us, and made one large loaf. The texture was not unlike a sweet pudding, close and dense but not in a bad way, and the taste was rich and very flavourful. We both enjoyed this for breakfast today with some fruit and extra spring onions. Made for Zurie's cook-a-thon in memory of her dear Gideon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      Wow, what a full-bodied wonderful bread. It really is a meal by itself and goes very well with soup and a salad. I used a scant cup of buttermilk. Every time I make it in future, I will go slow on adding this moisture, so I don't overdo it. Truly delicious and so very easy to make. I'm so glad you posted this recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      Boy, oh boy, oh boy, oh boy, Zuretha!!!!!! This bread is absolutely fantastic. I served at a girls' lunch and they almost died eating it. One said it like a cross beatween a frittata and a quiche. I don't know, it is just absolutely out of this world!!! Thanks for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      easy and quick.. a very tasty recipe! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Tasted so good! I used normal bacon not the lean one so I omitted the butter. I also used reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese and a little less than half the amount of buttermilk stated but the bread still turned out so moist. However, it sticks to the loaf pan badly (the pan was well greased with cooking spray and I never have this problem with other recipes.) For seasoning, I doubled the chili sauce. I also added less than half the amount of salt the recipe called for. Since I used table salt not seasoning salt, I sprinkled the mixture with garlic powder and paprika. I checked mine after 50 mins in the oven and it's completely done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Made this as a school lunch for my daughter because she was getting fed up of the usual. she loved it, as did I and my dh. thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      zurie, this is a great way to use up all the eggs i get from the girls(hens) half the time i have about 5 dozen in the frig . i also wanted to tell you i loved your pictures .my thief in my garden was my old mare i've had since i was 12 . she was like cat woman in the night .anyway great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I have to add my five stars. This is great bread. DH and I loved it. Will be great as a snack, breakfast or when traveling. I only made one loaf and didn't use the full cup of buttermilk but it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This stuff is great! Thank you for sharing. We made it to take along to the Rose Parade this year. It traveled perfectly, and was so easy to just slice and eat on the go. I am a vegetarian, so ours was made with veggie sausage and bacon. It still turned out so yummy, and didn't need butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Picnic Bread (From South Africa)

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 701.9
     
    Calories from Fat 444
    63%
    Total Fat 49.3 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 21.9 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 281.7 mg
    93%
    Sodium 1089.4 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes