36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow. These were astonishingly yummy. I had to make a few changes because I didn't plan well to make this recipe. The only major change I made was to use egg beaters (not because I was worried about the cholesterol with all the bacon) since I ran out of eggs. I also cut the salt to 1 tsp, omitted the butter (I forgot it) and the chili sauce. I baked them in muffin cups to help control portion size and they baked in about 30 minutes to a perfect golden brown. My yield was 30 standard sized muffins. Thank you so much for posting this Zurie. We'll be making this often.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay June 09, 2007

I wish I could give it 10 stars! This is now my favorite bread. I did everything as directed except I didn't add any pepper. Like others I needed much less buttermilk than called for (I used about 3/4 cup). One word of warning, for the first set of loafs I used glass loaf pans and the results were not good. They stuck to the pans even though they were well greased, and the texture was just off. The next set I made with metal loaf pans and the results were perfect. I will be making many, many more of these. A hundred thanks for the great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney July 24, 2008

I loved this bread, but I agree with other reviewers that the buttermilk doesn't seem to be needed at all. I added in a small splash of it, but really, the dough was quite wet already and didn't even need it. I can see a lot of possibilities for this bread, using a variety of meats and cheeses for different outcomes. I'm guessing that my kiddos would love this made with pepperoni and mozzarella cheese as well. I will keep this recipe around for the kids' school lunches and for quick breakfasts on the go.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen July 30, 2009

I had eaten an early light dinner tonight, but thought about these when I looked in my refridge and said "hey, there was a recipe I bought these spring onions especially to make". It didn't take me long to find it! This was/is just SUPER! The only thing I altered was to use 1 lb. country ham...HEY! Ya'll from the South!....The ham was purchased from a "local" grocer, and was just ends and pieces, but it was EXTRA lean. The only regrets I have with that choice, is that this particular package was saltier than the usual, and I forgot to soak in milk before using. The second thing, as I think Syrinx(?) pointed out that it was just a bit "eggy". I can't blame you for that, because I too think my eggs were a bit large. These things are easily remedied, and I certainly would not use them to give this recipe anything less than the 5 stars it deserves. I was really going to wait to rate it until tomorrow....after I'd tried a piece toasted in a skillet, but then I noticed someone else had already done that and the result was perfection. This recipe made five mini-loaves for me...about 5 1/2x 3 1/2...1 1/2 deep. Perfect. I ate an entire loaf as they came out of the oven....great alone and with roasted red peppers on top(jarred), and some fruit on the side. Can't wait til breakfast now! I'll still have 3 to wrap and toss into the freezer! This will be a regular around here!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP October 24, 2007

This was wonderful! Very dense and moist. It's a sandwich all by itself. I was doubtful about using raw bacon in the recipe, but it just baked in and sort of disappeared and left a wonderful flavor. Thanks for this keeper. **** I made it again, but this time I browned the bacon. Not crisp, but still limp, just slightly brown. That really changes the taste of the bread. Though it was good after browning the bacon, it is much, much better using the bacon raw. I won't brown it anymore when I make this recipe, which will be often. I love this recipe. Thanks Zurie.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 September 14, 2008

I love this bread!! I made it into 12 muffins and 1 loaf. I think i used more cheese than was required, close to about a pound, and only needed 1 cup of buttermilk and the consistency was "wetter" than scone dough, but it worked out well. I actually prefer it as muffins. Thanks so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara June 14, 2006

I made this into muffins and they came out a treat in only 15 mins. I'll cut out the butter next time as the cheese compensates for it. I also used wholemeal flour and added fresh parsley and chillies. Great recipe thanks, will make again and again. Will try and load a photo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abczee June 27, 2012

Well even though I didn't have the right sized pans - (had to use mini loaf pans) I didn't have any cream so used buttermilk (its all I had) and forgot the part about only adding enough buttermilk to make soft dough...I added it all - definitely not like any kind of dough (doh! hahaha) AND it still came out delicious, ds ate 3 mini loaves for lunch. It has to be a great recipe if it can endure so many errors and still be so yummy. Thank you so much for sharing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3isles July 12, 2010

WOW, talk about a meal in one slice! Great base to create other variations, adding rosemary or other herbs... I omitted the butter since the bacon has more than enough fat for the recipe. If going with a center cut/Can. Bacon or leaner meats, include the butter or even increase the amount. Adding diced fresh veggies, and you've got a quiche that you can eat on the go. Very good recipe that will be used in our kitchen frequently.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baer August 12, 2009

What a fantastic bread this is! I made half a recipe and since my eggs were on the small side I did use all the buttermilk called for. Wow-moist and packed with flavor. I have used it toasted well for salad croutons, sliced on the thin side then made breakfast sandwiches which once assembled I fried in a skillet to get it good and toasted-and for the rest I sliced about 1 inch thick, wrapped each piece then froze in a bread bag so I could take out as needed. It does freeze beautifully! Lovely Stuff Zurie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's January 30, 2014
Picnic Bread (From South Africa)