Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Picnic Basket Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Picnic Basket Bread

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2010

      Tastes and looks amazing. It would be a nice present.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      This is my go to picnic recipe. Its also awesome for the weekend when everyone is "grazing." It travels exceptionally well and is still good when only somewhat warm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      I made this for dinner tonight. Super easy to make, I used my bread maker for the dough, keeping an eye on the flour requirements as it mixed it, and pulling it out before the rise. I just put the ingredients in according to my manufacturer's directions. This is SO tasty and beautiful as well! I would give it more stars if I could.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      The last time I made this, I pretty much followed the recipe and it was very good. Today I made it again using cheddar cheese, canned albicore instead of the chicken (1 to 2 6oz. cans), onion powder instead of the chopped onions, and plendty of dry roasted garlic. It was fabulous. I doubled the recipe because I was taking it on a picnic with guests and didn't want to run short, but the 5 of us ate exactly 1 loaf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      I made this using cheddar cheese in place of the swiss cheese, and it was delicious! Even those who aren't fond of spinach like this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      This was fantastic! It smelled divine while I was making it and it tasted just as good while I was eating it! I made this for a family camping trip. Even the picky kids liked it. I used it for two days worth of lunches and it was still good the second day. This has become a camping/picnic staple for me. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      This recipe was OK, probably only 3 stars worth, but when I served it with good marinara sauce, it became a real winner. It became a Calzone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I used rapid rise yeast and followed the instructions in the rapid rise yeast package. For the filling I used fresh spinach, garlic, onion, scallions, crumbled feta and provolone. Very flexible recipe and easy to execute. I like it a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I have a tendency to avoid rating a recipe that I can't give four or five stars so I decided it's time I start being honest. To me the flavor of this didn't justify the effort that went into it. My family all left some of it on their plates. It might have been better for us if I personalized it with our favorite meats and cheeses. I think it lends itself to flexibility.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I've been making this for a long time. I especially like it made with ham and cheddar or ham and swiss. Usually make the dough in my food processor, which makes this recipe very quick to put together. It makes a great brown bag lunch to take to work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was so good, i made this for our picnic the night before. I was horrified by the smell before it was cooked but it tasted sooo yum, and disapeared quickly! You must try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This was really good! ....and sinfully easy, I might add. I did however, use a few different things to match what I had on hand. For the filling I used the chicken, spinach, roasted red peppers, and a four chesse Italian blend cheese (mozzarella, provalone, parm, and romano). It was good right out of the oven and also as leftovers. I also let the dough rise for about 30-45 minutes before shapping the loaf, only because I was sceptical about not letting a yeast dough rise at all. Very tasty, and I can imagine endless possiblities for different stuffing mixtures! A keeper Bungalow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Delicious and easy to put together. I made this for a picnic lunch and got rave reviews from the whole group. I used 2C cheddar cheese instead of the swiss and parm, added a clove of garlic and let the dough rise 30 min. as another reviewer suggested. Also I used 1 C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 C unbleached all purpose white flour for the dough. It turned out great and I'm already trying to think of when I can make it again. Update: Made it again with leftover Thanksgiving turkey- we'll have it for lunches next week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      At first I was apprehensive that you didn't have to let the dough rise, but it still turned out great. I made a few adjustments: used canned mushrooms instead of the spinach,did a mix of leftover roast chicken and vienna sausage, and added chopped parsley for color. The filling could use more seasonings I think: I'd probably do a mix of cooked chicken and ham next time, mix of mushrooms and spinach, then probably throw in some chopped garlic and red pepper flakes for a little heat. Also don't forget to brush the entire dough with egg white so you get a nice even brown color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      We really enjoyed this recipe, though I did make a few changes. I sauteed some fresh spinach with some minced garlic and I added some Montreal seasoning to give it a little zing. This is a recipe that really lends itself to variations. It can be used for so many different ways, with different meats, vegetables, and cheeses. This is a definite keeper and would also be a great idea for using up leftovers. Really good recipe, bungalowten! Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      We really love this! I made it last summer, following the recipe as written, and it was very good. I just made it again yesterday with a few changes to suit our tastes, and it was fantastic. First, since I had time, I did allow the dough a good rise before forming the loaf. (I think the texture was better and the flavor more developed.) I subbed Provolone for the Swiss and added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the filling. To me, spinach screams for garlic :), and it just seemed to be missing something without it. Anyway, I think this is a fun recipe and is practically a meal in itself. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      this bread was excellent. We loved it, and it smelled so good for hours afterwards. I'm not a very good bread maker, and I couldn't get the edges to seal up without getting holes in the sides and the filling spilling out. So I just kind of folded it on top of itself, and it worked beautifully. Smelled and looked so good. I did use fresh spinach instead of frozen. It's cheaper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Picnic Basket Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2520.1
     
    Calories from Fat 687
    27%
    Total Fat 76.3 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 39.5 g
    197%
    Cholesterol 381.0 mg
    127%
    Sodium 4086.0 mg
    170%
    Total Carbohydrate 280.0 g
    93%
    Dietary Fiber 19.2 g
    77%
    Sugars 20.2 g
    80%
    Protein 173.4 g
    346%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites