18 Reviews

Tastes and looks amazing. It would be a nice present.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slobo80 October 17, 2010

This is my go to picnic recipe. Its also awesome for the weekend when everyone is "grazing." It travels exceptionally well and is still good when only somewhat warm.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proud2beMrsD April 03, 2010

We really love this! I made it last summer, following the recipe as written, and it was very good. I just made it again yesterday with a few changes to suit our tastes, and it was fantastic. First, since I had time, I did allow the dough a good rise before forming the loaf. (I think the texture was better and the flavor more developed.) I subbed Provolone for the Swiss and added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the filling. To me, spinach screams for garlic :), and it just seemed to be missing something without it. Anyway, I think this is a fun recipe and is practically a meal in itself. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ January 18, 2007

I made this for dinner tonight. Super easy to make, I used my bread maker for the dough, keeping an eye on the flour requirements as it mixed it, and pulling it out before the rise. I just put the ingredients in according to my manufacturer's directions. This is SO tasty and beautiful as well! I would give it more stars if I could.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MRFNM September 07, 2005

The last time I made this, I pretty much followed the recipe and it was very good. Today I made it again using cheddar cheese, canned albicore instead of the chicken (1 to 2 6oz. cans), onion powder instead of the chopped onions, and plendty of dry roasted garlic. It was fabulous. I doubled the recipe because I was taking it on a picnic with guests and didn't want to run short, but the 5 of us ate exactly 1 loaf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews April 01, 2005

I made this using cheddar cheese in place of the swiss cheese, and it was delicious! Even those who aren't fond of spinach like this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kzim4 March 25, 2004

Loved this. I had left over Mexican chicken so changed it some to use pepperjack and Queso cheese, jalapeño, kale, red and yellow peppers. Great warm or cold. Served with Mexican kale salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 18, 2016

This was fantastic! It smelled divine while I was making it and it tasted just as good while I was eating it! I made this for a family camping trip. Even the picky kids liked it. I used it for two days worth of lunches and it was still good the second day. This has become a camping/picnic staple for me. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazarus November 29, 2013

This recipe was OK, probably only 3 stars worth, but when I served it with good marinara sauce, it became a real winner. It became a Calzone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjcarini_8216138 December 29, 2010

I used rapid rise yeast and followed the instructions in the rapid rise yeast package. For the filling I used fresh spinach, garlic, onion, scallions, crumbled feta and provolone. Very flexible recipe and easy to execute. I like it a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hammadjamila September 06, 2010
Picnic Basket Bread