10 Reviews

Geez I have to apologize to Sheri for not rating this sooner! I actually made this recipe last summer and opened a jar today, I thought I had already reviewed it last year! when I went to print it today I noticed that I had forgotten to review it! I have to agree with Susie in Texas this *IS* one of the better recipes for pickled jalapeno, not much changes here except if my memory serves me right I think I did increase the garlic slightly, I am growning jalapenos in my garden again this summer and look forward to making this once again, we loved this recipe, thanks hon!...Kitten:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz June 18, 2007

Thank you, and my mother thanks you also. She will only eat the ones like Goya, pickled in the cans and with a little oil, and these are even better.So pretty in the jars too, and I love that they retain some texture, as the Goya are mushy.I will use this exclusively as my Pickled Jalapeno recipe, and cannot wait till my peppers are ready to be picked.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ngdarlen May 15, 2006

I have tried several different recipes for pickled jalapeno peppers and this recipe is the best one I have tried. Very flavorful! The only change I made is that I used canning and pickling salt instead of regular salt. I never do a boiling water bath for pickles either. It isn't necessary because of the vinegar content. I didn't have 15 pounds of peppers to can, so I halved the ingredients. My family loves these. Thanks for sharing

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas June 24, 2003

Excellent, but I needed the full recipe of liquid to use with 5 pounds of jalapenos. Tried to make only 1/3 of the recipe the first time, and there was only enough liquid for 4 pints! Lots of wasted jalapenos, but we grow our own. The "Tam" jalapenos from Texas A&M University are our favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AP315 July 06, 2012

Pretty much the best jalie recipe ever. Never gonna buy those soggy, flavorless, store-bought canned ones again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gratefully Deadicated May 09, 2010

I did it with fresh habaneros sliced into rings. The taste is good and they are little rings of fire.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJW March 19, 2005

These are the greatest! I made a similar recipe for years, this is better! This is one of my 'food gifts' many friends love pickled jalapeno peppers! Let the vinegar oil mixture settle once peppers are eaten and use the oil for frying breaded veal cutlets, they are delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada November 23, 2003

This is a great recipe for jalapenos, they taste just like the ones in the best Mexican Food places. I didn't have 15 lbs of jalapenos, so I added more carrots. The recipe is very easy and the results are great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jp2 PARKER November 22, 2003

Very, very good. bThis is the best I have found.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foozee September 22, 2003

Yum! YUM! YUMMMMM!!! These are awesome! I am very impressed on how these turned out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennschen September 11, 2014
Pickled Jalapenos