Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pickled Hot Jalapeno Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Hot Jalapeno Peppers

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2001

      My husband loved the flavor but said they were a little mushy cooked for 15 min, so now I just store them in the frig. instead of processing them

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      My sister and I made 35 1 liter jars of these pickes was very easy to make. the only comment I have is the recipe said hint wear rubber gloves it should of read warning!!wear rubber gloves our hands burned for 2 days and we could not even put them in hot water other than that the recipe was great Oh we also put the jars in the canner for 7 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      My husband and I made 7 pints of this recipe. We did NOT process them at all. Simply poured the hot liquid over the content of each jar and they sealed on their own)we boiled the liquid for 5 minutes). My husband says they are crunchy and everybit as good as you buy in the store. "TWO THUMBS UP" Options: We sliced rings of banana peppers in one jar and used the same liquid to cover. This is a very easy recipe. HINT: use disposable rubber gloves while handling the peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      It has been several years since I put up peppers and used this recipe as a reminder when we decided to put some up this year. My family and I have always put up peppers this way. It can be used for jalapenos, bell peppers and just about any other peppers. My family does not hot water bath ours because we prefer a crispier pepper. We use the inversion method to seal the lids. We also allow ours to season no less than a month before we use them. No clue why just the way I was taught. Thanks Di, for posting this recipe. It is now safely tucked away in my personal cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      It makes me sad to think how long I've been buying these at the store. Homemade is the way to go! I made three jars worth two days ago (with 1 tablespoon minced garlic in each.) At this time, there is one jar left. Really, Really, amazing. Thanks for the post:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2014

      I packed the jars with jalapeños, garlic cloves, and peppercorns first and poured the liquid over it all. I also added pickle crisp to keep them from getting mushy. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      When a neighbor gave us a large batch of hot peppers from his garden decided I needed to do something like this with them. I've never pickled anything before but found this recipe was so easy decided to give it a try. I decided to slice the peppers as that's how we most often use them (and I was sure to wear rubber gloves) couldn't wait to try a taste so made one small jar for that and already the taste is just what we were looking for. Sure looks nice in the jars too and I'm betting they'll only get better with age. Oh by the way, I did a 10 minute water bath.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I've been buying those sliced, pickled jalapenos from the grocery store for years and use them in just about everything: scrambled eggs, nachos, quesadillas, chili, you name it. This year, we had a bumper crop of jalapenos so I decided to can my own. So glad I found your recipe: it was one of the easiest, and yet came out EXACTLY like the ones I've been buying... but spicier! (That may be due to how many red jalapenos I included in each can.) One thing, I didn't turn mine upside down. In the past, that's caused the jar's contents to float to the bottom and leave a ton of liquid on top. (That fixes itself when you open the jar but it's still not too pretty on the shelf.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Sooooo easy! I cored the jalapenos so that they can be stuffed at a later date. :-) We have so many peppers this year and this will certainly help to assure not a single one goes to waste! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Very simple & much better than store bought! I used garlic and a variety of hot peppers. I only processed for about 10 minutes so they wouldn't get mushy. Will use this again & again - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      These pickled peppers ARE just like what you buy in the store! A great way of preserving jalapenos. Thank you for a recipe I'll be using again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Oh Gosh, i just made a batch of these to use up my peppers in the garden before the frost hits, but now I wish I had more peppers, as this is a great recipe, and i know we will run out before next summer, if the fact that my husband ate 1/4 jar at one sitting is any indication !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Simply Perfect. I added 1 tsp of Italian Seasoning to the vinegar mixture plus 1/16th tsp of coarse salt to each 1/2 pint jar. I ended up with 8 jars total. You can't buy peppers this good in the store. Along with Sweet Pickled Banana Peppers I'm all set. Thanks DiB for sharing such a wonderful recipe. I guess now that I'm canning my own.... Old El Paso just might go out of business :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Wonderful! My Husband loved them! I never had to process them as they sealed on their own. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Perfect. I used this to can some home-grown hot banana peppers last fall. I waited to rate it until now, because I hadn't used any. I used them in Italian Beef in the Crock Pot. Very good, just what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      I pickled mine whole by cutting slits in each pepper. I also used red wine vinegar. Very good and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      This is the recipe I always use. It's so simple. I misplaced my recipe so I was glad to find this posted. I have never added garlic, but I might need to try that in the future! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      very very easy! loved it. I did add a couple of slices of garlic to receipe added extra flavor.I will save this one. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      So FAST & EASY & TASTY!!! I've used both pepper rings and whole peppers. I did add a few tbsps of horseradish for extra zip - we like em HOT! I had an assortment from the garden so I used a combination in both batches for added color. Thanks for sharing!!! DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Hot Jalapeno Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (1678 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 77.3
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    80%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 596.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes