26 Reviews

These are great! Dilly Beans are easy, fun, and a perfect beginning canning project. Here is a note for beginners: despite what some reviewers may post, it is NOT advisable to alter the proportions of vinegar/water/salt/sugar in a canning recipe. Canning is about chemistry; the right chemistry preserves your food...the wrong chemistry can fail to preserve the food, and people who consume it can become quite ill or worse. This is why measurements need to be exact, and recipes should come from a reliable source. Please read about proper canning practices in a publication like the Ball Blue Book.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livalips September 27, 2009

These were great. They were crisp and spicy, but not too spicy. These beans will become a yearly event in my house.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy October 03, 2010

When the first jar was opened with our children home for the weekend, four more jars were consumed. Two of the kids simply sat down and ate them for a snack while watching tv. It's good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katelsimpson September 30, 2015

How long are these suppose to sit for before eating??? My other beans i make take anywhere from 4-8 weeks. Just trying new recipes. Does anyone have an answer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phil a. August 03, 2014

These are so good! I made a few pints of these last year (an experiment as we've never made Dilly Beans) and were blown away by the taste sensation in these little beans. Try putting them on a salad...delicioso! Thanks for the recipe; I added it to my annual canning cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hughes June 21, 2010

We attended Mardi Gras this past year and the bartenders there put pickled green beens in there Bloody Marys. So when I got home we looked it up, this is a great recipe and my husband and all our friends and family love them. They are his new favorite snack while he is watching TV. He just said to me yesterday maybe we should make up a big batch and use them for Christmas presents. Not a bad Idea... Thanks Great easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryfredriksen August 30, 2008

Last year I took a Canning class and fell in love. One of the recipes they taught was Dilly Beans, and handed out a print out of this recipe. Thats when I fell in love with recipezaar, canning, dilly beans and this specific recipe. I finally got around to leaving a much deserved review. I make a batch of dilly beans once a month now. They are perfect with cold cuts in wraps. Or straight out of the jar. I give them as gifts as well. Thank you for the perfect, easy, recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mymainefamily May 28, 2008

What kind of salt???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NMrphy2 August 21, 2015

In response to several statements about measurements. It is extremely important to follow tested & safe recipe. However, the measurement of salt, sugar and other spices do NOT preserve your food, they are only for taste. It is the vinegar and water that must NOT be changed. You can find this information in any current food and safety canning on line. A good source is the National Center for Home Food Preservation (http://nchfp.uga.edu/questions/FAQ_canning.html#17). The only time the salt and sugar is a must is when using a dehydrating such as meats. These salt and sugar answers can scare beginning canners. Many people cannot safely consume this much salt or sugar as a recipe calls for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hholder118 July 19, 2015

As asked, before. How long should they sit. I'm new at this. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Destro U. February 17, 2015
Pickled Green Beans (Dilly Beans)