Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pickled Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Eggs

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      Thank you for printing this recipe; my mother used to make these very often (they tended to disappear) and there was always a big jar of them in the refrigerator. I had lost her recipe, and have been searching for years to find one that seemed to be closest to hers. Yours is just perfect. With much gratitude. Doreen. (PS The beet juice is a great idea; mother also used to use vegetable colouring and made some red and some green for Christmas - I have done this and it made a sensation!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      This is the first pickled egg recipe that I have tried but it is definately a keeper! They taste just like the ones that I remember fromyears past. I added a garlic clove to a quart jar and six boiled eggs. After just 3 days the flavor is excellent, I can't wait for two weeks to pass by, if I can wait at all...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I am not a pickled egg person. But DH always goes to deer camp and the guys he goes with love em. I don't know why I didn't review this sooner... The only change I made is when not using beet juice I went ahead and added the cup of water instead. Seems to balance everything out nicely. I also ring my onions and place some on the bottom of the jar and rest on top. Makes for a nice presentation. Also I followed the liquid amounts and I am able to do a half gallon jar and a quart jar of eggs. 36 eggs total farm fresh, which are the size of extra large grocery eggs, if that helps anyone. Thanks for posting this recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Very, very good pickled eggs. I made as stated. Next time, I will cut the vinegar back to 3 C. and add 1 C. water. Everyone loved these. I even had to e-mail my sister this recipe just now. Now, reading the recipe again, I wished I had some here. Thanks wildheart for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      First time pickling anything. Reminds me of my grandma's pickled eggs. They do have a sour taste but that is the way I like them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I added 1 cup of water to this recipe. The eggs were ready in 2 days and I am definitely going to make more. Thanks so much for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I used red onions and the vinegar turned pink. Good recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      We really enjoy this recipe. I have made it a couple of times. I have found that this amount of brine actually works for 24 eggs rather than the 12, so boil up enough eggs at the start. Don't worry they won't go to waste! The only thing I have changed is that I use 2 tsp of salt rather than 1. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      Excellent! BF loved them while having a few ice-cold beers. They were very tangy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      My DH liked these, but I didn't. I guess I like mine less sour (vinegary).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      very sour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Nice recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      very very good pickled eggs i too added water to the recipe and a touch more sugar the onion flavor was very good paired with the eggs this is the excellent choice for the perfect pickled egg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Thanks for this nice, easy recipe. I too, cut the brine recipe in half and it was just right to fill the jar to the top. Thanks again for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Found this recipe when I happened to have alot of eggs in the fridge with no use. Made for Christmas and the family asked why as no one normally eats pickled eggs as a rule. Ended up making two dozen as they were such a hit. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

    • on May 18, 2008

      The best pickled egg recipe I have found. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Wanted to try making some pickled eggs so used this recipe and we really like it. I didn't have beet juice so added a cup of water to the brine and I'm glad I did because I think they would be pretty tart full strength. In my second batch I sliced the onions instead of chopping so they are easier to get out of the jar. This amount of brine is more than enough for 12 eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      My husband asked me for pickled eggs so I decided to try this. I even added the beet juice, which I was a little worried because he doesn't like beets. He LOVES THEM! Didn't change a thing except sized the recipe down. Perfect, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Thank you wildheart! My husband used to bug me fix pickled eggs, this is the best recipe ever. The first time I made them he was sneaking them out after day 3. The jar stays in the refrigerator at all times and I just add more eggs. My husband thanks you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.5
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    39%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 186.5 mg
    62%
    Sodium 258.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickling spices

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites