Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pickled Cucumber Slices Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Cucumber Slices

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2009

      One DD loved these, but the rest of us found them just a bit too tart. I had made a large batch, so I stirred in a little extra water and some sugar (couple TB, I think) and let it sit overnight. The next night, we ALL loved them. Especially the onions, they were just great in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Very easy pickle to make. Made recipe as stated. Stayed in the fridge for a while. Nice fast, easy recipe. Would recommend to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      Omitted the bell peppers because I didn't have any, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. Very tasty and certainly couldn't be any easier! DH really liked them also. Great way to eat up those overabundant summertime cukes. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      Couldn't be any faster or easier than this. Very zingy as written, you may want to adjust the vinegar-water ratio. I added onions and red pepper and in a couple of hours have a great back of homemade cucumber pickles. Nice one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Yummy! Really yummy if you use veggies either from your garden or the farmers' market! I replaces two lemon cucumbers for two of the standard cucumbers and used one orange and one yellow bell pepper. The Pucker Power was spot on! Thanks for posting! cg ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      is very good dee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      Ihave never made my own pickles before. IWhen I went to the cupboard there no white vinegar so I substituted red wine vinegar and balsamic. The cucumbers were lovely and crisp and because of the baslamic vinegar they were not too sharp. Can I just add more veggies to the mixture or do I have to throw it out and start again for a new batch?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2004

      A quick and easy way to get the taste of home canned cukes on the table. We added onions and red pepper. Next batch will try with some fresh garlic, and sliced carrots and perhaps some zucchini

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      This is a great recipe for any veggie! I used cukes, vidalia onion and thinly sliced carrots. I liked the tartness of this recipe and did not change the amounts of vinegar, but I do think I might add a little fresh garlic next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      Oh, Jim - this is fabulous!! I made the recipe exactly as posted except to add a little fresh garlic. I used red bell peppers since they were on sale this week (is $.39 each a good price?). I put everything into my Tupperware marinating container (love that thing!) and let it sit overnight. The next morning I took the whole thing in to my Jazzercise class and you should have seen those ladies go for those cukes (at 7:30am!). Needless to say, I didn't bring anything home with me and I have a ton of recipe requests for Monday night's class. So you will be quite the popular guy, Jim! Thanks so much for posting - I've got cukes coming out of my ears in the garden!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      Jim, great receipe. I was just commenting a few days ago would love some pickles like Mom used t make. Look on the Zaar saw yours, tried it, ate it. Made more, tried it , liked it. Made more .. Get the picture. Thanks for sharing this wonder down home delight. I made mine with cucumbers, red and green bell peppers, vidalia onions and garlic. THanks again for sharing....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      This was one of my mom's favorites when we were growing up. I just used cucumbers and LOTS of onions,like she did and I swear, I think I have died and gone to heaven!!! Thanks Jim!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      Great recipe. Made it and it was gone in a day. Will have to make it in a washtub too I guess Sigh! Used red and yellow peppers, white onions, carrots and fresh garlic (a huge amt. we love garlic ;) ) Thanks for a keeper. :) Fay

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      Boy Oh Boy!! Count me in on this recipe, it's deeelicious!! Followed your easy directions this a.m., and by suppertime, we were chowin' down on some mighty fine cukes. I added red, green, and yellow bells ... Shore did add the color to it! Think on the next batch, I'll add fresh garlic! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful dish, Jim ... Tis easily a big 5* winner! Laudee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      These are delicious! It's nice you can change the *pucker power* without it affecting the flavor of the recipe! :) A very refreshing side dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2004

      These are so good. I'm making my third batch in less than a week and cukes aren't even in season yet! A great low fat recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      These were very simple to make and very tasty too. I think this would work well with carrots, onions,and radishes too. Thanks for a lovely refreshing recipe. UPDATE - I've been making your recipe since June 2005 and it is still my go to recipe for quick and easy pickles. I tried something different this time and added a Tbs of dried dill weed and a few tobasco peppers. It turned out great. Still loving the original but it was nice to have a variation. Thanks again for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      I made half a batch and found it very vinegary. Maybe it's not something that can be successfully halved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I really enjoyed them. They were very quick and easy to prepare. I didn' score them. But they made a very nice and very tart snack -- was going to serve them with salad & meal but I oversampled them too extensively... Over all a fanastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      This is a very quick and easy recipe to make. I prepared this early in the day and the flavors were wonderful. Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Jim In Washington.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Cucumber Slices

    Serving Size: 1 (230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 42.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    48%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 588.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes