Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pickled Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Carrots

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2003

      Five star plus, taste and eye appeal !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I really like the recipe. I did make a few minor changes. Not being able to calculate 11 cups into lbs. I started with two pounds of carrots, peeled and cut to length for pint jars, quartered and found out that I should have prepared six lbs for the six pint yield. I sliced the red and green peppers, one medium each and placed them in the jars vertically. This gave the contents real color. I used three cloves of garlic for each pint and used one medium jalapeno pepper, chopped, placing approximately one sixth in each pint. I added about 12 black peppercorns to each pint. No other variations, the brine is almost like a health drink in it's self. The extra jalapeno is for my fire eating friends, It sure is a great way to fix the carrots, kind of a new twist to a carrot stick. (no pun intended) I think the carrots could be served warm as a main dish or cold as part of a veggie bar. Great posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      I only used 1/2 tsp. of dried oregano and 1/2 of a garlic clove per pint jar. I didn't process the carrots for 10 minutes either. I usually bring the canner to a boil, add the jars, then turn the burner off. Let jars sit to seal. I never have a problem with pickles spoiling using this method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      Good pickled carrots! I halved the recipe with success. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Very tasty, tremendous eye-appeal. Sliced my peppers in strips, as did some other reviewers, and they make a tasty pickle themselves. Subbed red chili flakes (pinch per pint) for the jalapenos, due to allergies, but otherwise made per the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      So I followed Lee's suggestions and put 12 peppercorns in the bottom and cut my peppers in slivers for colorful accents in my jars. I used 3 jalapenos with all seeds for spice split between the 9 jars. 6 lbs of carrots made 9 pint jars not 6 pint jars, but it just meant more to share today so I didn't mind at all having the extra product. At a friend suggestion we are going to let them pickle in the jar for about 2 months before opening so I haven't tasted them yet, but just the carrots in the pickle juice were pretty yummy so I'm excited to try them fully spiced soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      VERY flavorful and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      For personal preference, I left out the oregano and peppers. I served this to accompany a Vietnamese Bun. We loved it. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      I am trying it now and it appears to be what I was seeking. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      absolutely wonderful, especially after they have sat in the jars for about a month. I used the large sweet carrots and they were just great, perfect spices and all the rest. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (3396 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.6
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    64%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1725.4 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.7 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 67.7 g
    270%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites