15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wish I could give this recipe more than five stars! I used to run when my mom had beets but these are wonderful. I did use 2 cans of beets but 3 would have been better. The horseradish was prepared and I used caraway seeds instead of cloves. Perfect sweet and sour flavor, will be making these again! Thank you Rita for a great recipe. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 05, 2008

In 26 years, we didn't know that both LL and DH love pickled beets! This is a fancier variety than we're used to thinking of, and it's delicious. Loved the touch of caraway! Snuck under the wire for ZWT4!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn June 18, 2008

My husband's exact words, "these are the best pickled beets I've ever had." I used 3 large fresh beets (boiled until soft) with 3/4 of a large yellow onion. I didn't have any horseradish, and used a couple of shakes of ground cloves instead. I doubled the sugar per another reviewer's recommendation, and used half white vinegar, half apple cider vinegar. Thanks for sharing -- this is going to be my pickled beet recipe from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allisonsdinner April 15, 2008

This was too sour for us too.. pity becuase I like beetroot a lot. Maybe I will try again with slightly less vinegar, in the meantime it was for us at least a bit overpowering. Please see my rating system: 3 stars :) Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 12, 2006

This is wonderful cwikla! Made as directed, but used a combo of white balsamic and red wine vinegar, a touch more sugar, and both cloves and caraway. It was a hit at the Polish birthday party I attended this past Saturday and it will replace my former favorite. Can't wait to try when the fresh beets become available locally. I'm definitely going to make your Potato and Beet Salad, as well. Thanks so much for all of your wonderful Polish recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina June 23, 2009

Great pickled beets. Loved the addition of horseradish. The dressing was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 12, 2008

Loved it! Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirelaz December 13, 2007

EXTREMELY NICE! These beets are just GREAT! I've always loved the taste of pickled beets, but this recipe kicks them up a notch! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 01, 2007

Yes, these are tart. I added more sugar and enjoyed them more. I also used the clove option. Thanks for sharing, Rita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 July 22, 2006

I'm sorry but I thought these came out really good! These are the way I like it. Sour but with a little sweetnes to them. I would not change a thing on these...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE July 13, 2006
Pickled Beets (Cwikla)