Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pickled Beets (Cwikla) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Beets (Cwikla)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2008

      Wish I could give this recipe more than five stars! I used to run when my mom had beets but these are wonderful. I did use 2 cans of beets but 3 would have been better. The horseradish was prepared and I used caraway seeds instead of cloves. Perfect sweet and sour flavor, will be making these again! Thank you Rita for a great recipe. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      In 26 years, we didn't know that both LL and DH love pickled beets! This is a fancier variety than we're used to thinking of, and it's delicious. Loved the touch of caraway! Snuck under the wire for ZWT4!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      My husband's exact words, "these are the best pickled beets I've ever had." I used 3 large fresh beets (boiled until soft) with 3/4 of a large yellow onion. I didn't have any horseradish, and used a couple of shakes of ground cloves instead. I doubled the sugar per another reviewer's recommendation, and used half white vinegar, half apple cider vinegar. Thanks for sharing -- this is going to be my pickled beet recipe from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      This was too sour for us too.. pity becuase I like beetroot a lot. Maybe I will try again with slightly less vinegar, in the meantime it was for us at least a bit overpowering. Please see my rating system: 3 stars :) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This is wonderful cwikla! Made as directed, but used a combo of white balsamic and red wine vinegar, a touch more sugar, and both cloves and caraway. It was a hit at the Polish birthday party I attended this past Saturday and it will replace my former favorite. Can't wait to try when the fresh beets become available locally. I'm definitely going to make your Potato and Beet Salad, as well. Thanks so much for all of your wonderful Polish recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Great pickled beets. Loved the addition of horseradish. The dressing was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Loved it! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      EXTREMELY NICE! These beets are just GREAT! I've always loved the taste of pickled beets, but this recipe kicks them up a notch! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Yes, these are tart. I added more sugar and enjoyed them more. I also used the clove option. Thanks for sharing, Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      I'm sorry but I thought these came out really good! These are the way I like it. Sour but with a little sweetnes to them. I would not change a thing on these...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Tangy, sharp and very different. LOVED the onions in here- they stayed CRISP and became beautifully stained by the beets. I like these more the longer they sit. I LOVE pickled beets very sweet - these are not- They ARE VERY GOOD just not sweet. I did add some additional sugar after 24 hours- personal preference I think. They are rather sour. Great recipe! You HAVE to share with us tho- HOW do you pronounce it? Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      I absolutely loved these beets as they were quite different from the typical pickled beets. I used cloves (a few more than listed and prepared horse radish). Gave the salad a nice bit of spiciness that was neither hot nor sour -- just a little tart and tangy. Found it to be a refreshing change from so many beet salads which are just too sweet and a little flat on flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      Delicious!! Just the way we like our pickled beets a little on the tart side. The onions are a real treat too!! We will be making these again, thanks for sharing a good one. — Mar 14, 2005 had to add to this, I forgot to say that I used real small baby beets and rather than cut them in half I poked each one with a toothpick, worked great, the taste got right into them and we love the tender tiny ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      These pickled beets are very good easy to make. Nice and spicy. I used the cloves instead of caraway seeds. Next time I will use less horseradish in them as I almost added to much as I cut the recipe in half for the 2 of us. Thank you Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      Made this with the fresh beet, clove and prepared horseradish options. Enjoyed the presentation immensely and would double (at least) the sugar next time. It was fairly sour for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Beets (Cwikla)

    Serving Size: 1 (1168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    18%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1266.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 15.1 g
    60%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites