Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pickled Beets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Beets

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2010

      Made these last night..very easy!!

      I also used the brine to do purple and orange carrots. I just added a strip of orange rind to each jar for the carrots.

      Posted a picture too. (large jar is beets and two small are the carrots.)

      I also used Spenda in place of the sugar.

      Thank you so much!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Great recipe. I haven't had home made pickled beets in years and these are better than I remembered! Just the right amount of sweetness for my taste and very simple to prepare. I'll be making these often and might become the designated pickle beet maker of my family. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      Great recipe for pickled beets! I just canned 11 jars and still have more in my garden to do. The only thing I did different was add 2 tsp pickling spice in a mesh bag to the brine and I simmered the beets cut up in the brine for 10 min for them to get the pickling spice flavor in them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      I canned beets with this recipe last year. It was the first time I canned beets. I can tell I never liked beets but, I could not get enough of these. My family and I were sad when we ran out of beets last year. So I planted beets in my garden this year and I am ready for more beets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      Not to detract, but here's a few tricks and tips to embellish this basic beet recipe. Use real/true apple cider vinegar. Cider vineger is sold as 'Apple Cider Vinegar' or "Apple Cider FLAVORED VINEGAR'...stay away from the latter. It is white vinegar with caramel coloring and who knows what. Add a pinch of salt, and a few whole black peppercorns to the liquid you are boiling, and add a few black pepercorns to the jars before sealing. Vundabar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      I have been looking and looking for this recipe! I used one similar years ago but could not find it-thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      I have been using this recipe for about 3 years now and it is really great. Everyone tells me how good they are and not to change a thing. Thanks for a great recipe. Brenda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This is how my aunt makes her pickled beets and she's been doing it for ages. These taste really good and are a wonderful alternative to the regular spiced beets that you normally see. All of her kids, family, and friends ask for a jar every year. This is also a family favorite and a unique treasure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      these are perfect pickled beets. i worried that the sugar would be way too much, but i think even my grandmother, famous for her pickled beets, will really enjoy them. thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      5 stars on faith, because I can't get the durn lids off! :-) That is what comes of using nifty new-style(sort of)canning jars. If I ever get 'em open -- well, WHEN I get them open -- I shall return to report. Super easy to make. And I love pickled beets so I WILL get them open.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      All I can say about this recipe. Wonderful! Wonderful! It was so easy, That my boyfriend and i canned 10 jars. We were all done in 30 minutes. The taste was beautiful. Thank you! Mary

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      If I could rate this a 10+++ you would get it Paula. This recipe was an answer to my dreams. My aunt made the best pickled beets and unfortunately she never committed her recipes to paper. I have been searching for years for a recipe that would even come close to what I remembered the taste to be. Yours was the second of four recipes I was going to try and I can't believe I was able to recreate the taste with your recipe. A thousand kudos to you and your family for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2004

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Beets

    Serving Size: 1 (1750 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 636.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 160.0 g
    53%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 159.7 g
    638%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites