13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these last night..very easy!!

I also used the brine to do purple and orange carrots. I just added a strip of orange rind to each jar for the carrots.

Posted a picture too. (large jar is beets and two small are the carrots.)

I also used Spenda in place of the sugar.

Thank you so much!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed & Cheryl July 20, 2010

Great recipe. I haven't had home made pickled beets in years and these are better than I remembered! Just the right amount of sweetness for my taste and very simple to prepare. I'll be making these often and might become the designated pickle beet maker of my family. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pcarriere October 04, 2009

Great recipe for pickled beets! I just canned 11 jars and still have more in my garden to do. The only thing I did different was add 2 tsp pickling spice in a mesh bag to the brine and I simmered the beets cut up in the brine for 10 min for them to get the pickling spice flavor in them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mummyof3 September 19, 2008

I canned beets with this recipe last year. It was the first time I canned beets. I can tell I never liked beets but, I could not get enough of these. My family and I were sad when we ran out of beets last year. So I planted beets in my garden this year and I am ready for more beets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jgoldberg_10924088 July 14, 2013

Not to detract, but here's a few tricks and tips to embellish this basic beet recipe. Use real/true apple cider vinegar. Cider vineger is sold as 'Apple Cider Vinegar' or "Apple Cider FLAVORED VINEGAR'...stay away from the latter. It is white vinegar with caramel coloring and who knows what. Add a pinch of salt, and a few whole black peppercorns to the liquid you are boiling, and add a few black pepercorns to the jars before sealing. Vundabar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Accommo January 04, 2012

I have been looking and looking for this recipe! I used one similar years ago but could not find it-thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddrown October 24, 2011

I have been using this recipe for about 3 years now and it is really great. Everyone tells me how good they are and not to change a thing. Thanks for a great recipe. Brenda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Hall July 27, 2010

This is how my aunt makes her pickled beets and she's been doing it for ages. These taste really good and are a wonderful alternative to the regular spiced beets that you normally see. All of her kids, family, and friends ask for a jar every year. This is also a family favorite and a unique treasure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saeriu October 11, 2008

these are perfect pickled beets. i worried that the sugar would be way too much, but i think even my grandmother, famous for her pickled beets, will really enjoy them. thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ollietooops December 01, 2007

5 stars on faith, because I can't get the durn lids off! :-) That is what comes of using nifty new-style(sort of)canning jars. If I ever get 'em open -- well, WHEN I get them open -- I shall return to report. Super easy to make. And I love pickled beets so I WILL get them open.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT September 30, 2007
Pickled Beets