Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pickled Beets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pickled Beets

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2011

      A few of the comments here are dead wrong and I'm pointing them so someone who doesn't know any better is not led astray. The purpose of the boiling water bath is not to seal the jars.....it's to destroy any possible pathogens on the beets or inside the jars or lids. Repeat: A hot water bath is not to seal the jars! Luckily, this recipe has enough vinegar in it that that alone is probably what makes it safe. With highly acidic foods likes pickles and often tomatoes, or with foods containing a lot of sugar (like jam), you may get by without making yourself or someone else sick, but don't even think about trying that with non-acidic foods or your "time saving" strategy may just come back to bite you you-know-where.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      The (U. S.) National Center for Home Food Preservation recommends that for safety pickled beets in jars be processed in a boiling water bath for 30 to 45 minutes, depending upon your altitude. For more info on iome canning their web site is at www.uga.edu/nchfp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      this is a wonderful recipe and very easy to make.i highly recommend this for anyone who likes pickled beets. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This is the most requested gift that I give! Every single person that has eaten them has asked me to gift them with the beets again! What a deal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      As the recipe said to cook the beets unpeeled and whole I was a bit concerned as I had already peeled and chunked the raw beets before deciding what to do with them/look for a recipe, but I decided to forge ahead and follow this recipe from the point of cooking the beets and I AM SO GLAD I DID! Turned out just delicious. This recipe is the PERFECT blend of salty, sweet, and tang with just enough spice -absolutely delicious. Second only to oven-roasted beets, this is my new favorite and this is undoubtedly the only pickled beets recipe I will use. Can't wait for next farmers' market day to get more beets! p.s. Skip the hot water bath. I've never had a problem with unsealed lids. Just make sure you put HOT product in HOT jars topped with HOT lids and rings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I just wanted to comment because I have never once used a hot water bath and I can everything from jam to speghetti sauce. My jam usually never lasts more than 3 years but i rarely find a broken seal and have never been ill from my preserves. Two thumbs up lali for being smart and not wasting your time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      Fantastically easy and very yummy! LOVE this recipe! Will use it for YEARS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Tasty! I use apple cider vinegar. Tastes best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      This is the first time I've made and canned pickled beets. My friend gave me mega amounts of beets! Everyone has raved over the flavor. Most receipes have too much cloves - not this one. Instead of slicing beets, I made mine in spears. Tastes and looks great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      I add some juice from boiling beets. It gives the beets a nice red colour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pickled Beets

    Serving Size: 1 (5194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 796.6
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    84%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9789.8 mg
    407%
    Total Carbohydrate 195.6 g
    65%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 185.8 g
    743%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes