10 Reviews

This recipe is as good as the other reviewers said it was. I made it for Cinco de Mayo and it did not disappoint. I made mine in a vegan version using Yves fake ground beef and it worked great! One note of caution, I added the 1/2 teaspoon salt prior to trying it and regretted it. I hadn't added any additional salt so figured it would be bland and need the 1/2 tsp, but it turns out the olives added quite a bit of salt, so it was a bit on the salty side. Otherwise, it rocked. This one is going in my "go-to" cookbook. I made it with the recipezaar recipe for Mexican Yellow Rice, which was also fantastic and easy to make. The whole thing took me about an hour.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ekarger May 07, 2010

I love this!! I've made it many times already and many of my friends have asked for the recipe and love it also. The mix of tastes works out wonderfully! I eat it over white rice and everyone in my family gobbles it up every time. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristina_garo August 22, 2007

Amazing flavor! We love this recipe and I make it often!! I only use 1 lb of ground beef and sometimes use 2 Tbs of pimento-stuffed green olives instead of a can of pimentos. I always use sherry. Make yellow rice or ID #348262 and add another handful of raisins. YUM :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz August 25, 2012

This is the second recipe I try for picadillo and it will be the last! The whole family loved it! I recomend it! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolina_rsr September 24, 2007

Very good. Wan't sure about the combination of ingredients but turned out good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 15, 2013

This is pretty good, and definitely tastes different than most Latin American food I've eaten. I ended up using chopped kale instead of peas though, because I love kale. I served this over rice, but I realize now it would have tasted so much better in a burrito, maybe with some cheese, sour cream, and pico de gallo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer September 23, 2012

I make this as directed except cook the veggies with the meat. I serve it with yellow rice, black beans, and Mexican cole slaw from this site-quick, easy, and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovemycrock July 09, 2012

Beautiful dish! I followed the recipe but added a little Portuguese zing and added some wet red crushed pepper and omitted the salt after reading the reviews and glad I did...it is perfect. I also used fresh oregano instead of dried crushed. I served with frozen store bought plantains that I pan fried in honey butter and served yellow Spanish rice and black beans that I put fresh garlic in. The platter looked impressive considering this took under 30 minutes to do! Thank you for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azorian Princess September 01, 2010

I really enjoyed this recipe. It is quick and easy to make and can be used many ways. My kids put theirs on a bun like a cuban sloppy joe. I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinmom76 August 07, 2008

EXCELLENT! Made exactly as directed and served over mashed potatoes. A very savory dish! Thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vaflnc October 10, 2007
Picadillo