Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / PHILLY (Italian Style) Hot Roast Pork Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    PHILLY (Italian Style) Hot Roast Pork Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      This recipe was awesome! I made it for a dinner party and everyone just raved about it. I only substituted one thing, I used beer instead of water. I will make this again, I'm sure. It really could not have been easier. The meat literaly pulled apart, I didn't even have to cut it into slices. That night, for a really late snack after we got back from our night on the town, we mixed in some BBQ sauce and a little of the juices with the leftovers and had more sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I am from Philly and can absolutely confirm this is the real deal. I combined all spices, plus added some red pepper flake and rubbed it into the meat and let it rest in the fridge for 12 hrs. I also cooked mine in the crock pot on low for 12 hours. I put it in at midnight and had the most delicious meal waiting for me and the family at noon the next day. I poured a small can of au jus into the cooker instead of using water also.Top with sharp provolone, and sauteed broccoli rabe or baby spinich and serve on an italian roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This recipe was excellent. I substituted Chicken Broth for the water. We are located close to Philadelphia and this is just as good as something you'd get in South Philly. Update 2/9/09: Making this right now for a family weekend. Just wanted to make a note to add that I always add some rosemary with the seasonings, which is great. Also, I always make sure to make this is a metal pan because once when making this at my Mom's, we used a 13x9 pyrex dish and it got so hot while the fat was melting off it exploded when we added the room temperature broth to the pan. What a mess! I make this for most parties and always use a whole loin, about 10-12 lbs. NEVER any leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Made this recipe for my Super Bowl Party-Fantastic! Used a good crusty roll, sliced Provolone and some horseradish. Big hit. What I would change the next time I cook this is: 1) Would marinate overnight-needs a little more zing in my opinion. 2) A little less water would make the sauce more flavorful. You will enjoy this sandwich!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This is great. It is my understanding that an authentic South Philly pork sandwich is served with aged provalone and sauted brocolli rabe. You can also use boston butt if you cook it slow 300 for 4 hours

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      What a wonderful Pork Roast this turned out to be! Never would have thought about Itlians Spices could be so great on Pork. I anointed the roast with olive oil, so all those great herbs and spices would stick. Cooked it as indicated, and a ssomeone suggested used beer insted of water. "DELICIOUS"!! Thanks for a great recipe. Koechin

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Turned out well. Easy enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I've made this three times and everyone loves it! Today I used beer instead of water and finally had enough pan drippings to make some gravy. I buy a whole tenderloin (about 9 pounds) from the local warehouse club. it's only about $20 and you've got a great crowd pleaser. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      This was SOOO good. Ate sandwiches from it all week and it was still delicious. So moist, the best pork roast I have ever eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Needed a main dish that's easy on the wallet and feeds a large group. I made a 2# roast and used chicken stock in place of water. I was worried flavor would suffer because no amounts were specified (and because in general I dislike pork roasts), but it was PERFECTLY DELICIOUS! As I type I am making it again, this time in the crock pot! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Delicious as written! Simple recipes are the best...I top mine with sliced onion and fresh garlic. The smell while in the oven is amazing! I love it when this roast just falls apart! Wonderful Fall dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Wow this was GREAT!!!! Hubby just came home from work and I made him a couple sandwhiches and he LOVED em!!! Even the kids gobbled them up....the little piggies ate 3 sandwhiches each lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      Yummy! My husband is from Philly and I'm from the midwest so he didn't think I could pull of authentic philly style pork sandwiches. He loved them and said they were perfect. I didn't slice the pork instead I cooked it in the crockpot 3 hours on high until done and then shredded it with a fork. And then let is cook another 3 hours on low until dinner time. We served with crusty french rolls for a yummy treat. For the liquid, I used organic seasoned chicken broth. The pork had an italian flavor with a bit of spiciness from the black pepper. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      Excellent dish. The entire family loved it. I cooked it in the crock pot on high for five hours and then it pulled apart to make great pulled pork sandwiches. I added beer to the recipe so it would have some good juices to cook in. The flavor was awesome and we have plenty left over for sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Made this for supper tonight. I wish I could give more than 5 stars, my husband and son even like this and they don't normally like pork. I served these on fresh baked biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      Wow, is this a man-pleaser! I enjoyed it as well but hubbie was transported. This recipe packs a lot of flavor for minimal work. My 4 1/2 pound roast took a good hour to reach the point of needing to add the water but otherwise worked just as the recipe is written. Totally delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      Delicious! I cooked a 1 3/4lb boneless pork butt roast, for just me and DH. I didn't have dehydrated garlic, so I used 1 tsp minced garlic and rubbed it on. It did take about 30-45 minutes for step #4, but the rest of the cooktime went according to the recipe. It was meant to be cut up for sandwiches; the rolls were bought and ready to be stuffed, but DH finished the cooking and cut the pork into thick slices and served them as an entree. Great recipe, will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for PHILLY (Italian Style) Hot Roast Pork Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 322.3
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    33%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 97.4 mg
    32%
    Sodium 224.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 35.0 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites