Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich (((Authentic))) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich (((Authentic)))

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2011

      Followed the instructions exactly but was not impressed with the outcome. Time to prep and cook are way off too. If this is the authentic sandwich, it's just another reason to dislike Philadelphia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      We really liked this recipe! I had a real philly in Philadelphia from a street vendor, and I was looking for a recipe like that, and this is it! Easy to make too. I used lunch meat (in the glad containers) and it worked just fine. We have made this a few times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      DH and I really enjoyed this for our Friday night dinner. I couldn't really figure out how I was supposed to do the provolone, so I put a layer of cheese on the bottom of the roll, then the meat mixture and topped with another layer of cheese and put them in the oven until the cheese melted. I used deli roast beef. This was very easy to do. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Yum, I think it was a little under seasoned, but that's my bad. This dish was enjoyed by two east coast natives living on the west coast. We so miss home and dishes like this always light up a long work week. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      My boyfriend and I loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      This was sooo easy! I added an 8 oz package of mushrooms, and used Boar's head roast beef. Added some salt, pepper, garlic powder to the meat and served it all on Toasted hoagie buns from Publix with mayo and provolone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Simply excellent! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This is very good!I had a leftover roast and cut it into thin slices to use on this sandwich.I used a multi grain baguette with mustard spread on it.For the cheese,I used sliced processed cheese and some cheddar.Once the sandwich was put together I heated the entire thing in the oven to melt the cheese and toast the bread.It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Delicious! Made this for my room mates and they loved it. Thanks Alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

    • on August 20, 2009

      Oh so yummy! We added sautéed mushrooms - yum! My picky son even loved it. Thanks Alan for a great, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Thanks for the tip about using deli sliced roast beef, I really want to try the recipe but wasn't sure how I would get the frozen rib eye sliced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Best Philly Cheesesteak I have ever tasted. The suggestion to use the deli roast beef was a big timesaver. I will definately keep making this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      These are the bomb. I toasted the buns. So delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      These were absolutely delicious! I made them last night for dinner, with a few changes. My DH doesn't like peppers, so we used just onion, and I didn't have any garlic so I just left that out too. I also toasted the bread (didn't scrape any out) and spread some mayo on it before topping with the meat/onions, salt/pepper. My husband has an endearing way of 'demanding' things that he likes (ie. "Honey, I demand some chocolate chip cookies!). Well, he gave you a high compliment by saying last night, "Yes, now I have something else I can demand" :) Thanks for sharing the recipe! **Update: I make this recipe all the time and we are still LOVING it! Last time I added mushrooms to the onion/garlic mix and it was great! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      These are absolutely great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      We didn't care for this using deli roast beef. I'll use a rib eye next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Made this last night and it was great! I added more onion because of my personal bias to them :) I can't wait to make this again a real keeper. Thanks so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

    • on October 25, 2008

      Good, but seemed to be lacking something. Roast beef may have been too lean as it didn't get the nice greasy flavor that I associate with Cheesesteak sandwiches. Overall tasted decent and was very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich (((Authentic)))

    Serving Size: 1 (559 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 965.3
     
    Calories from Fat 355
    36%
    Total Fat 39.5 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 22.0 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 133.0 mg
    44%
    Sodium 3143.5 mg
    130%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 63.4 g
    126%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites