90 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

THE MOST AMAZING THINGS I HAVE EVER TASTED. I used to think I knew what a Philly cheese steak tasted like until I tried these. Rave reviews from all my friends, many even thought I had bought them! I can't get enough of these sandwiches!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefmuchx3 August 18, 2008

This recipe was my 1st attempt at Philly Cheese Steak and it turned out great. I used sub bread that I sliced open and lightly toasted under the broiler before usuing, as someone else stated I didn't want the bread to get soggy. My roast beef was a bit bland so I added a LOT more garlic, S&P, red pepper flakes and a few other things to our liking. I put the filling on the bread, topped with cheese and put under the broiler until the cheese was melted. It was heavenly! I served this to a group of men and my kids and all gave it a thumbs up! I'm looking forward to making this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW May 29, 2008

Yo, Alan, thnx for posting the "real" thing! Processed cheese "stuff", YUCK. To walk into a little Mom and Pop shop and see the mounds of steak and onions on the grill was heaven! I'm talking, of course, in PA. Lived in Allentown in the early 50's growing up. And what was better to go with than a good pierogi! Thnx, thnx, thnx for posting, Alan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter May 25, 2008

Except for using a pan due to lack of griddle, I followed this to the letter, and all I can say is *slurp.* Comfort food at it's finest! The phrase "comfort food" really sells it short, though. Thank you so much for sharing the real Philly with us. This is a gorgeous sandwich.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Pierce April 15, 2008

Hi Alan! Thanks for sharing this recipe... it's so delicious. My husband is from Philly and he like you remembers the old way. And in his opinion, the best way. I'm from the Midwest so making a cheesesteak sandwich was a change for me. Thanks, you made me and my husband very happy. We make these all the time now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy February 16, 2008

Yummy is the word for this sandwich! Made just like the recipe and ate till I thought I was going to pop. The smells in the kitchen were making me hungrier by the minute while I was cooking them. We will be making these many times in the future. We loved them! Thanks Alan. Cindy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymcleod62 January 29, 2008

This brings back memories for me. Growing up we didn't have alot of money so on the rare occasion when my parents took all 5 kids out for a meal, we would go to a lunch counter where we would order this sandwich with a plate of fries and gravy. Tonight, my kids got to enjoy it too and we all absolutely loved it. Thanks so much Alan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 28, 2008

This was very good. I also liked the idea of hollowing out the bread. It's too doughy for me if you don't. I would suggest really good quality roast beef, probably even better if you buy raw beef and slice it yourself. The deli meat is too salty for me and so it overpowers the flavor of the beef. I would definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VickiC January 24, 2008

Haven't tried it yet, but will. We've only had the kind with ribeyes and whiz so far. This sounds like a good change. And for the other comments claiming this isn't authentic, you need to re-read the write up by Mr. Leonetti. This is old school and the whiz is the new style.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Covelli December 09, 2007

In fairness, I had to try this before reviewing (you'll see why.) Alan has presented us a very tasty roast beef sandwich. He is correct that most places around the country don't get it right. I really liked the addition of garlic. I don't particularly like the peppers in the sandwich, however. Also, I don't agree with the author that it is authentic Philly. He is correct that Cheez Whiz could not have been used before the early 1950's when it was introduced, so I don't know what was used when the author was a child. Pat's King of Steaks has been around since 1930 and has the best Philly Cheesesteaks, in my opinion. That's where I have gone whenever I was in Philadelphia, dating back to the early '70s. They have always used Cheez Whiz when I visited. I don't know what they used before the '50's, but Velveeta, a similar product, has been around since before 1920, so maybe it was the topping of choice at that time. Pat's does offer other cheeses besides Cheez Whiz, but the classic "wit" or "wit out" (with/without onions) includes Cheese Wiz. I will ask the old-timers at Pat's if they remember what was once used. Also, regarding some other recipes, calling a sandwich with mushrooms a "Philly" is like calling chicken wings with barbecue sauce "Buffalo." And Alan, did you actually suggest ketchup or marinara as an option? Shame on you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dad's Cooking August 23, 2014
Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich (((Authentic)))