Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich (((Authentic))) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich (((Authentic)))

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2011

      OK, this is NOT, NOT, NOT a Philly Cheesesteak if you use deli roast beef. You must use thinly sliced rib eye. And the poster has personal preferences in the recipe. I do not know of a single place that has garlic in the sandwich unless requested. Also, as a BASIC original cheesesteak, 99% of places do not use bell peppers. This would still be a good sandwich if made as described, but it would NOT be AUTHENTIC. Trust a 250 pound guy who has probably eaten 1000 of them in his life - and has had heart bypass as proof, LOL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Alan Leonetti failed to mention that some kind of magic occurs to bring all of these wonderful flavors together! You will not believe it until you try it yourself. Thanks for a recipe so good that after years of dedication to food.com I finally registered just to review this incredible sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      This recipe should be resubmitted as a roast beef sandwich. The othere reviewer is correct, this is not a Philly cheesesteak. It does not contain the correct meat or trimmings. Also, you can't put it on any roll from the supermarket. It needs to be a hoagie roll from an Italian bakery to give it that authentic taste. Oh..and you forgot the garbage can..you need to lean over the can as you eat the sandwich so the grease can drip into it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      An Authentic Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich would have Cheese Wiz in it not provolone cheese. however this recipe does sound very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      I guess I'm not a purist, because I made a few changes. We added sliced mushrooms to the veggies, and two of us had provolone cheese while two of us had white american. It was still fantastic, and very easy to put together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Love this - but wanted to spice it up a bit. I added Chili Garlic Sauce that I get at my Asian grocery. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      OMG...so good. I have another steak sandwich recipe that I REALLY like, but that recipe does not include cheese (it is not a Philly cheese steak recipe). So, whenever I make the other recipe, my husband always ask for cheese. I don't give in because I don't like to stray from the original recipe. So, I made this exactly as written. No complaints, wouldn't change a thing. As much as I like my other recipe, this was really nice to have a different kind of steak sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      Boy, do I love a purist. This is just an all round perfect Philly. The only problem with serving this sandwich is that you'll have a very quiet table, since everyone's mouth will be full at all times.
      I added mayo to the hoagies, otherwise made it just as instructed....a simple excellent meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      This is my go to recipe for a Philly Cheesesteak now! I love it!! SO easy and tastes perfect! I can even easily modify it to make a "Philly ChickenSteak" as well.

      Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      WOW! This was the best cheesesteak I've ever had. The whole family snarfed it down in minutes. We like a lot of cheese, so we placed two slices of provolone inside the bread, and another slice on top of the meat. There was one sandwich left over, so we refrigerated it, and I really didn't expect it to be so great the next day when we heated it, but it was even better, if that's possible. It really gave the juices a chance to soak into the bread. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      Great sandwich! I used some medium rare leftover rib eye steak thinly sliced. Easy and good. Thanks Alan for a keeper. Made for Zaar Alphabet Chef Soup Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Very good! My parents owned a deli when I was growing up and this really took me back to those great Phillies they always made! Sooo good! I did toast the sub buns in the oven & also sprinkled the onion-pepper mix with some seasoning salt. Awesome sandwich! Thank you :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This is one of those recipes I can only make a few times a year due to the fact that we made total pigs out of ourselves. I used rare deli roast beef-once the onions and peppers were cut this came together in under 5 minutes-big bonus! I also used provolone-my Husband opted for Cheese Whiz. He did take a bite of mine half way through the feast and was miffed-live and learn! Served with Onion Rings. Thank you for posting this recipe-it will be made again and again! Di ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Having been born and raised in the Philly area, I was used to being able to get great cheesesteaks. However, once I moved to North Carolina, they became a distant memory. No offense to North Carolinians, but what they consider an "authentic" Philly cheesesteak doesn't come close. I made this recipe last night and was thrilled with the results. The sandwich had all the same tastes and textures that I remembered and will be made many more times. Thanks Alan for sharing this recipe and temporarily transporting me back to my roots.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I went with the deli roast beef, very rare, and used an electric skillet, just had to do some timing to get everything done simultaneously. They were outstanding. My GF is from South Jersey and hasn't been home in 10 years but said this is the exact sandwich she traveled to Philly for in her youth. Thanks for posting it....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I saw this and just had to try it and see for myself if these were indeed authentic. Yep, they are, and let me just say, they are delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This is the first cheesesteak I've ever had, and it was good! I added mushrooms to the saute, and some mayo/ketchup. thanks for the step by step on how to make it. It's really quite simple!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Wowzers!!! What a great recipe. I used a leftover roast that was medium rare. I sliced it on the slicer and proceeded to follow the recipe. We loved this and plan on making the roast just for this recipe....lol. I made this for lunch for the kids and I but this will be made for dinner in this house. I didn't have provolone this time so I subbed in swiss cheese but I plan on using the provolone next time. Thank you for posting this awesome sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This sandwich is sloppy but excellent. I ended up using deli italian beef becaue it was more raw it turned out perfect. My husband ordered this when we were out and he said this was just as good if not better than what he got at the restraurant. Well worth the calories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Yummy. we're in australia and this was this months different recipe from america for my husband. I need to cut the meat thinner next time, but apart from that he said it was perfect. i used subway rolls as couldn't find anything i thought would suit and he ate a entire footlong. So thankyou this is going into my recipe box under USA treats!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich (((Authentic)))

    Serving Size: 1 (559 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 965.3
     
    Calories from Fat 355
    36%
    Total Fat 39.5 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 22.0 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 133.0 mg
    44%
    Sodium 3143.5 mg
    130%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 63.4 g
    126%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites