96 Reviews

OK, this is NOT, NOT, NOT a Philly Cheesesteak if you use deli roast beef. You must use thinly sliced rib eye. And the poster has personal preferences in the recipe. I do not know of a single place that has garlic in the sandwich unless requested. Also, as a BASIC original cheesesteak, 99% of places do not use bell peppers. This would still be a good sandwich if made as described, but it would NOT be AUTHENTIC. Trust a 250 pound guy who has probably eaten 1000 of them in his life - and has had heart bypass as proof, LOL.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa Deuce November 03, 2011

Alan Leonetti failed to mention that some kind of magic occurs to bring all of these wonderful flavors together! You will not believe it until you try it yourself. Thanks for a recipe so good that after years of dedication to food.com I finally registered just to review this incredible sandwich!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vandelet October 30, 2011

This recipe should be resubmitted as a roast beef sandwich. The othere reviewer is correct, this is not a Philly cheesesteak. It does not contain the correct meat or trimmings. Also, you can't put it on any roll from the supermarket. It needs to be a hoagie roll from an Italian bakery to give it that authentic taste. Oh..and you forgot the garbage can..you need to lean over the can as you eat the sandwich so the grease can drip into it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nonna5554 May 07, 2012

This is my go to recipe for a Philly Cheesesteak now! I love it!! SO easy and tastes perfect! I can even easily modify it to make a "Philly ChickenSteak" as well.

Thank you!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacnMya'smom February 23, 2011

WOW! This was the best cheesesteak I've ever had. The whole family snarfed it down in minutes. We like a lot of cheese, so we placed two slices of provolone inside the bread, and another slice on top of the meat. There was one sandwich left over, so we refrigerated it, and I really didn't expect it to be so great the next day when we heated it, but it was even better, if that's possible. It really gave the juices a chance to soak into the bread. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat November 23, 2010

Hi Alan! Thanks for sharing this recipe... it's so delicious. My husband is from Philly and he like you remembers the old way. And in his opinion, the best way. I'm from the Midwest so making a cheesesteak sandwich was a change for me. Thanks, you made me and my husband very happy. We make these all the time now.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy February 16, 2008

This brings back memories for me. Growing up we didn't have alot of money so on the rare occasion when my parents took all 5 kids out for a meal, we would go to a lunch counter where we would order this sandwich with a plate of fries and gravy. Tonight, my kids got to enjoy it too and we all absolutely loved it. Thanks so much Alan!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 28, 2008

I guess I'm not a purist, because I made a few changes. We added sliced mushrooms to the veggies, and two of us had provolone cheese while two of us had white american. It was still fantastic, and very easy to put together.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emoximuu June 19, 2012

Yo, Alan, thnx for posting the "real" thing! Processed cheese "stuff", YUCK. To walk into a little Mom and Pop shop and see the mounds of steak and onions on the grill was heaven! I'm talking, of course, in PA. Lived in Allentown in the early 50's growing up. And what was better to go with than a good pierogi! Thnx, thnx, thnx for posting, Alan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter May 25, 2008

I grew up in South Philly. Cheese steaks when I was growing up were made with American cheese and fried onions if you wanted. Provolone and cheese wizare newer additions. Green peppers and mushrooms are only added if you ask.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 28, 2015
Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich (((Authentic)))