Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Philly Cheese Steaks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Philly Cheese Steaks

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2006

      I'm sure this is delicious, however, this is not an authentic recipe for a Philly Cheese Steak. It's no more "Philly" than saying Dominos is an authentic representation of Italian pizza. An authentic Philly Cheese Steak is far simpler. Just super thin sliced rib eye/round eye steak, an Amoroso Roll, soya oil (that's what Pat's King of Steak uses, the originator of the steak), and cheese wiz/provalone. Sauteed onions are an option. BTW, adding swiss cheese to a "Philly" Cheese Steak is like wearing a Cowboys jersey to an Eagles game, especially if it's an Owens jersey. -Yo Adrian!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      This recipe actually has a lot of flavor, compared to the others. My go to recipe when it's Philly time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      This is a great recipe. I used elk meat because I have a lot of it to use up. My family all loved it, and they don't always like to eat the game I bring home. I will definitely use this recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Loved this recipe! I had some leftover tri-tip and was looking for a new recipe to try out. This was delicious! I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Excellent cheese steak! My husband, kids and I all loved them. I doubled the seasoning, but only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      Very good. We would make this again and plan too. I don't have any improvements to suggest. Tastes great made as directed by recipe. Thanks. .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I made these for my family the other night for dinner and we loved them. I used sirloin steak and it worked wonderful. I put the steak (already sliced) and the seasonings in a ziplock bag and set in the fridge for a couple of hours to let the flavors meld together and penetrate into the meat. Very good flavor we all enjoyed it very much. I didn't read all the way down and I cooked my veggies first and then pushed them to the side of my griddle and added the meat to the middle, cooked it and combined the meat and veggies. It worked fantastic. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I am giving this a 4 because it's decent however, if you want a philly cheese steak this isn't it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Great Recipe, my husband loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      These were really good! I made exactly as printed, using sirloin steak. These made a great informal meal while watching the hockey playoffs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Very good! The blend of spices really makes it taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      "Any way you slice it" this is a great cheese steak recipe! This sandwich has the familiar philly taste with a subtle artisian flair. I loved it because it was flavorful rather than bland, and DH loved it because it tasted "exactly the way a cheese steak should". This is a great sandwich that will please the majority. Thanks Po!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! I made these for the Seahawks championship game, and served them with onion rings and plenty of beer to rave reviews all around. I know you're not a Seahawks fan, but thanks for posting the recipe. It was terrific! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      Boy!! This recipe is OUT OF THIS WORLD! DH and I loved it! I marinated the strips of steak in the spices with oil in a large baggie overnight, the only thing I changed was instead of garlic powder I used the minced garlic. I took this recipe up to the lake this past weekend and made for supper. It was so nice coming in off the boat and into the camper and having this easy and quick meal. DH sure did some bragging about this Philly Cheese Steak the next day! :) THanks so much for posting a awesome philly cheese steak sandwich recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Well I have to say this is one of those recipes that I wish I could give more than 5 stars. I prepared these last night with the following changes. Since it was a nice day I planned on grilling the steaks (4 new york strips) I doubled the seasoning and added the olive oil making an herb rub. I rubbed this on the steaks, placed in my magic marinader thingy for 20 minutes and grilled to medium rare. In the mean time I prepared the veggies as stated and broiled the hogie rolls using provolone cheese as that's what I had. I let the steaks rest 10 minutes and sliced thinnly, placing on the rolls and topped with the veggies. I also added some pickled banana peppers as I think it really makes the flavors pop. These were to die for. My family voted that it replaced their #1 french dip sandwich. We will be making these a lot this summer. Great recipe Po!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      Hon, all I can say is your DH was SO right when he said these were great!! A very easy, but delicious sandwich! I used NY strip and sliced it about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. I did omit the mushrooms as a personal preference, but did not change anything else. My company raved how good they were and I gave them a copy of the recipe and ivited them to join up here for more tasty treats! Very nice job podapo!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Philly Cheese Steaks

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 557.8
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    40%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 109.1 mg
    36%
    Sodium 713.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 45.7 g
    91%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites